Posted by: sarahantz | April 18, 2009

My turn…..

So today it’s my turn to tell you a little about myself: I was born in Northampton, England, the eldest of 4 children (I have 3 younger brothers), and I took my eldest child responsibilities very seriously. When I said jump, they asked how high. They’re all a lot taller than me now, so I’ve had to change tactics for getting my own way.

School and I weren’t a match made in heaven. I was bored a lot of the time, and it seemed much more fun to dream up ways of disrupting lessons than to actually pay attention. Which could explain why I was always in trouble! But I redeemed myself later, when at twenty-one I went back to full-time study. Except, I got carried away and became a bit of a qualification tart – ending up with a social science degree, a post-graduate certificate of education (so I can teach), a doctorate in educational management, and a qualification in human resource management. I even worked in education for a number of years – lecturing.

But all the time I was never content. I knew there was something missing, just didn’t know what. Until I discovered writing.

I wasn’t one of those people who wrote from being a small child. I did read though. I’ve always been an avid reader. And it took me a few years of thinking about writing before I actually started. But now, I wouldn’t do anything else, and I never get bored!

And, lucky for me, I now live in the most perfect place ever to write. I moved to New Zealand from the UK several years ago, with my husband and two children. After working at a university for three years I left to work in our motel and devote more time to my writing. I wish I’d done it sooner!

In my spare time I love going to the movies, watching TV, walking, exploring this fabulous country, spending heaps of time on msn with my writer friends, and playing with our gorgeous Labrador.

Like Vanessa, I thought I’d end by telling you five quirky (or is that weird) things about me:

1. I have an obsession with my dishwasher… and get very excited when it’s full and I can turn it on!

2. Given the choice, I would have chips (fries) with EVERY meal.

3. I’m such a list person, that I even put things on my list after I’ve done them just so I can cross them off!

4. If I love a movie I will watch it over and over and over…. I saw Love Actually 8 times at the movies and then bought my own copy… I must have seen it at least 50 times (Mamma Mia is catching it up fast).

5. I’m hopeless at cooking and burn everything. I’ve even been known to put something on to cook, forget all about it and go out….

Responses

  1. Sara, thanks for taking the time to tell us about yourself. It actually sounds like we have a lot in common – I am a qualification tart, teacher and Love Actually nerd.

    Although I do think watching Mamma Mia that many times could be damaging to your ears. No one should have to sit through Pierce Brosnan’s tone deaf “singing” that much…or it’s not his singing you are interested in. Hmmm.

  2. Yep I’ve got a few qualifications and am a teacher and have taught at uni as well (tutored). But creating stories is much more fun.
    Adele I agree with the Pierce Brosnan thing, he’s hot but no don’t sing, just a smile that’s all we want from him. Now if it was Robbie Williams… well that might be different or Ronan Keating. Did I tell you I’m in like with Ronan?

  3. Adele, glad we have a lot in common! I don’t mind Pierce’s singing…. it just sort of goes with the movie!!!

  4. Natalie, creating stories is definitely much more fun than teaching!

    Robbie Williams… yes I definitely like him. Ronan’s ok, I can sort of take or leave him (should I be ducking now????)

  5. Sara, I loved reading your five things. A doctorate – wow! But you’ve obviously found your calling as a writer.

    Totally with you on the chips. For me, they have to be crispy on the outside and fluffy inside. Love them with mayo. I’ll take them with vinegar too. I hope those kitchen disasters haven’t culminated in flames!

  6. I hear you Sara.

    I burned the bottom of a saucepan the other night while I was reading Twitter. I’ve had an oil fire – just in the frypan, thank God. And I’ve also had a teatowel spontaneously combust when it was about a foot away from the stove I blame it on my Gemini ascendant. I’m rarely doing one thing at once.

    For instance now, I’m listening to Joss Stone, washing up, doing the washing, cleaning up cat vomit, cooking a pizza for lunch at 3.20 pm, and on the net. It seems I never learn.

  7. Acquiring a dishwasher is one of my greatest aspirations in life.

    That, and a massage chair!

  8. Vanessa, mayo is an absolute must!! I love a chip sandwich with mayo on both bits of bread……

  9. Yikes, Diane, on the oil fire!!! I love Joss Stone…. so if I had to do housework, which I HATE, she would make it more bearable 🙂

  10. Elizabeth, you’ll love the dishwasher when you get it. I’ve never wanted a massage chair though.

  11. I grew up with a dishwasher and still miss it dearly..
    one day I’ll have one again…

    I’m a list fiend, too, and I definitely hear you on the putting things on the list just to cross them off thing.
    it’s just so satisfying!

  12. Glad to hear the list thing isn’t just me being weird, Kiki!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

