Posted by: Vanessa Barneveld | April 24, 2009

Hawt Potato

potato_heart_mutation

Some of you might be very surprised I’ve chosen to spotlight the spud during Food Week at We Love YA. After all, it’s common knowledge that chocolate is a major food group for me. I must confess I’ve also had an enduring love affair with potatoes my whole life.

Apart from making my heart (and stomach) sing, is there anything the potato can’t do? Cooking-wise, you can manipulate it any which way – smash, hash, boil, bake, grill, dice, slice, French-fry, pan-fry. It’s even ideal smothered in a luscious chocolate mole sauce.

If potatoes came with a nutritional panel, it would say they’re high in fibre, folate, B vitamins, vitamin C, protein, potassium and carbohydrates. A potato with the skin on contains 110 calories – until you add butter, oil, cream, bacon and/or chocolate mole, that is. In order for me to work off an unembellished potato, I would have to type for just over an hour. How easy it that? It truly is the perfect food for writers. (Click here to check out other ways to pay penance for 100-calorie snacks.)

Understandably, the potato has inspired many creative souls. Author Stephanie Ashcraft has 101 suggestions on what to do with a potato. Others, like the Wiggles, have recorded catchy songs about them. Check out this potato gem by Northern Soul singer Dee Dee Sharp:

While I’m an expert at eating spuds, I’m still learning how best to treat them in the kitchen. Is the desiree most desirable for mashing? Which variety will make hot chips that are crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside? Some of the answers to these pressing questions can be found through these resources:

White Hat – A guide on which potatoes are good for chipping, roasting or mashing, etc.
Belgian Fries – A comprehensive site on the finer points of fries created by a Dutchman named Michael who has travelled the world in search of the perfect chip. I, for one, cannot wait to return to Amsterdam later this year and binge on frites bathed in mayonnaise.
Western Potatoes – I anticipated images of Mr Potato Head dressed in a cowboy costume but instead found potato paradise.

So, what do you think – is it wrong to love the potato so much? How do you like your potatoes?

I’ll leave you to stew on that with Dee Dee Sharp’s follow-up to Mashed Potato Time – a little number called… Gravy:

Responses

  1. Potatoes – I love my potatoes!! And happy with any way it’s cooked – can you think of a more versatile food?! Now to check out those sites….

  2. I like baked sweet potatoes better. My kids must be weird because they don’t like mashed potato, they tend to use it as ammunition in the dinner table war of attrition. Still finding potato in the oddest places after the last battle.

  3. Eleni, hope you’re having a great birthday week! I couldn’t agree with you more on the potato’s versatility. Happy site-seeing!

    Natalie, I think I’d prefer mashed potato ammunition over hard, uncooked spuds. Ouch!

  4. Typing burns calories??! Wooo! I have noticed that when I’m working hardcore on a writing project I seem to trim down a bit. It’s probably because I do less bored-snacking too! My favourite way to have potatoes is SCALLOPED!! Slice thinly with onions and cream, and maybe a few slices of sweet potato, then baked until it’s really soft, and crispy on the top. Oh, heaven! Or, mashed with wasabi with a piece of grilled salmon. Drool….

  5. Hi, Rhiannon! Great to see you here. I’m still trying to master the art of eating with one hand and typing with the other.

    Both of your potato recipes sound amaaaazing! I haven’t had a scalloped potato in years – and even then it was a greasy one from a fish’n’chips shop. Your take on scallops is far more appetising.

  6. Oh, Vanessa, love the post! And love the hearty potato! He just wants to be mashed, or sprinkled with olive oil and vinegar. Or maybe chip-efied. Or salted up *drool*

  7. Don’t forget the butter, Monique! Oh, and the sour cream. And the mayo…or the tomato sauce…or mushroom sauce… Yum!

  8. Ahh, Vanessa, I have to live a life without dairy! But I do indulge, occasionally. I regret it later, but yeah, butter and mayo etc. are soooo good!

  9. Mmmmh, potatoes.
    One of my favourite ways to have potatoes is in a dry curry with lots of mustard seeds, curry leaves and many, many spices.
    Alternatively, spicy and sweet always works for me and I’ll often roast small cubed potatoes with fruit, garlic, onion and chili.

    Potatoes are a great staple because they’re bland but dress up well.

    I agree with Natalie on sweet potatoes being their own kind of awesome.

  10. Ah, Mon, why do the foods are so bad for us taste so good?

    Kiki, I’d never thought of roasting fruit with potatoes. I imagine baked apples or pears would go well with the ol’ spud.

  11. 99 Argos To make the Vintage Tea Party Ideas menu recipes, so that businesses are operating way below capacity and unemployment is disturbingly high.

  12. Howdy would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m looking to start my own blog soon
    but I’m having a tough time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to
    ask!

  13. One of the more important aspects of cleaning off
    your glasses is to do it without scratching the lenses.
    Then while you are building up and increasing your sexual stamina, go and have sex a lot.

    If you are an American or western teacher, then you are probably accustomed to having interacting classrooms where you ask questions on the spot or simply encourage a lot
    of debate.

  14. Your way of telling the whole thing in this piece of writing is really fastidious, every one can effortlessly be aware of it, Thanks a lot.

  15. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is

    needed to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a
    pretty penny? I’m not very

    web savvy so I’m not 100% certain. Any tips or advice

    would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

  16. Wow! Many thanks! I always wanted to write in
    my site something of that nature. Can I take portion of your post to my
    blog? Appreciate it!

  17. Hey there, You’ve done a fantastic job here. I’ll certainly be back.
    And will personally suggest it to my friends. I’m confident they will benefit from this site. The info has been so very much appreciated!

  18. Excellent blog here! Also your website loads up fast! What host are you the
    use of? Can I am getting your associate link to your host?

    I wish my website loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  19. Currently the solution to the particular issue, how to lose weight swiftly or perhaps how to lose weight quick, includes a regular exercising, personal control and hale and hearty diet.

    Instead of wolfing down your food you chew it 20 to 30 times or more until it
    becomes a liquid in your mouth and mixed well with saliva.
    Just as importantly, Tru – Sculpt Body Shaping is safe, largely
    painless, can be performed on-site at reputable medical spas, and requires no anesthesia.

  20. Please, can you PM me and explain to me several more things regarding this topic, since I’m already a follower of your blog. Thank you, so much!

  21. Hi.
    I just noticed your webpage: Hawt Potato | We love YA
    when I was searching reddit.com. It looks as though someone enjoyed your blog so much
    they decided to bookmark it – good job!

  22. Its not my first time to pay a quick visit this site, i am browsing this webb pagee dailly and obtain nice facts from here
    daily.

  23. I go to seee evedy day some blogs and blogs to read posts, except this website presents quality based content.


Leave a Reply

Categories

