Posted by: Natalie Hatch | May 4, 2009

Did I Really Wear That?

It’s fashion week here at WeLoveYA, I’m sure the other girls will provide some truly stupendous frocks throughout the week but I’m a walking fashion disaster. I guess it comes from growing up in the 80s where hair was big and shoulder pads were bigger! Yes I did fall victim to the efforts of certain clothing company’s pressure to conform to shoulder pad mania. I also wore taffeta, lycra and dayglo/flouro! I cringe when I see pictures.

So we’ll start off with prom fashions the things we wore include numbers similar to these beauties.

Shoulder pads and boofy hair, it could only be Dynasty (or Die Nasty as my siblings would call it)

The amount of hair product skyrocketed causing large ozone holes which were quickly eliminated by the mass marketing of hair gel. Who could forget Madonna’s influence.

Say the words Layers ladies, Layers.  Mix lace and leather and faux fur and you’ve got the early eighties all over again.

Then we have the preppy set, boys wore pink and green together, yeah they did. I figure we can blame movies like Class and other Ivy League contenders for this look.

We have the flouro

We blame Wham for this phase of the 80s fair and square, they brought in a new dimension of fashion extremes.

Now for things that I actually liked? Ferris Bueller, that’s all we have to say about that. I soo wanted to be Mia Sara, she was cooler than cool.  Maybe in a few weeks we can have a tribute to 80s movies that changed the world (or really just entertained a few teens).

Responses

  1. A few years ago when I was twenty (and there was a mad revival of everything eighties) I watched Desperately Seeking Susan and everything I bought after that was vintage black and gold. Black and gold purses, black and gold earrings, black and gold dresses. I LOVED that movie, mostly for its fashion and Aidan Quinn. Gosh, what a hottie he is in that movie!

  2. Ugh. I still feel queasy every time I see someone in 80s revival fashion. Some things are better left low and buried…

    Thanks for the great visuals though!

    And I agree, we should talk about cult classic movies… and their fashion!

  3. OMG!! That brings back memories!! Look at Heather Locklear’s hair!!!

    I LOVE Wham. Still rocks on my iPod, along with all the other classic eighties hits – I had Rick Astley and Billy Idol playing this morning along with all the latest stuff, but I find I keep going back to the hits of my childhood.

    Thanks for making me laugh, Nat.

  4. OMG! I did that shoulder pad thing too! And Luke Skywalker hair!

    And Monique, I have Rick Astley on my MP3 as well! So, um, does this mean we are cool?

  5. These pictures are taking me places I don’t wanna go! I fell for the fluoro fad (damn you, Wham!), but I think the glow-in-the-dark pink socks were as far as I took it. Honest.

  6. Well that was a trip down memory lane.

  7. It’s just my way of contributing to your cringe meter! LOL, come on WHAM!! Andrew Ridgley was the one we all thought was gay, funny how things work out huh?

  8. Yes, Lesley, we are soooo cool! Never Gonna Give You Up, Rick! Lol.

    Vanessa, do you remember those big skirts we used to wear? What were the called (bubble skirts or something??). I’m sure you were hiding one of those in your closet!

    And Nat, yep, I thought it was Andrew who was gay. For a long time I was in denial about George!! But he can still sing to me anytime 🙂

  9. Rumour has it that if you speed up Rick Astley’s song you’ll hear Kylie Minogues voice, that’s why it sounds so groggy, have another listen to it. He was lipsynching?

  10. C’mon Nat, where are the piccies with you in them? Chicken!

    Monique, yes they were bubble skirts. I did have one. One only.

    And what about those dresses/tops/skirts that you just rolled on?


Leave a Reply

Categories

