Posted by: Diane Curran | May 10, 2009

Fashion Victim

I’ve always been a t-shirt and jeans kind of girl. Still am.

But in my teen years and twenties, I did experiment with fashion, adopt new trends and try to find my own style.

I was very skinny in my teens. Ate lots but could not put on weight. Was accused of having an eating disorder, but it wasn’t the case. Even thought I wasn’t sporty, whatever I ate, I burned off.  It was a bad thing, because I got used to eat whatever I wanted with no consequences.

The consequences caught up with me in my late twenties. I think my metabolism changed when I had a major car accident at twenty and spent the next four months hobbling around on crutches.

In deciding what to post today, I went through many photos. I found a photo of me in a black bikini. (shudder). Flat-chested, skinny malinky, turn sideways and I disappear. I’m not going to post that photo. I felt much healthier once I started putting on weight.

Anyway, this post is not about weight but it did make it easier to shop when I was a teenager and the early twenties. Everything fitted. And I could wear anything. Tight, short, skimpy, loose or baggy.  I miss those days where I could find something on the rack and it would fit and look great.

I’ll skip my teen years for fashion photos. Though I have a couple of ‘hair’ shots to show you. Because all through my life, it’s my hair that has changed.

So here’s my mullet. LOL.

IMG_0050

What was I thinking?

Mostly through high school, my hair was very long and DEAD straight. I won’t post any photos because they’re mostly official school portraits, and the uniform still makes me shudder.

By the time I reached year eleven, I’d discovered the pleasure of the perm.

IMG Here I am, at my year 12 school formal, pretty in pink and a poodle perm.  (Glad the poodle perm wasn’t pink as well.)

Unconventional me took a female friend to my formal as my date – and you know what – that wasn’t even commented on. None of the cool kids cared what I did so they probably didn’t even notice that I was there with a girl. and my close friends from school knew that she was a pal from my theatre group.

When I went to university, and started working at Domino’s Pizza, I had disposeable income and could start experimenting more with clothes and hair.

And other things.

IMG_0008

The perm stayed for quite a few years and I developed a passion for leather.  Suede tops and leather minis or almost knee-length leather skirts.

IMG_0053 I had this black leather skirt on the left, a white leather mini skirt, then whole heap of leather or suede mix and match tops in red (left), white, mauve and yellow.

The top to the left did up with studs at the back and once a nasty drag queen at a party undid them and ripped the top off me. Still not sure if I’ve forgiven him/her for that.

IMG_0054My passion for leather softened in my twenties and I exchanged it for velvet instead.

IMG_0011 I bought a two piece black velvet outfit, long-sleeved top and mini-skirt for $120. I loved it. But when my grandfather asked me how much I’d spent on the outfit and I told him, he became angry and told me that he would never lend me money again (I hadn’t borrowed money to buy it) because I wasted it.

Funny thing is, that outfit was one of the best investments I ever made and I wore it a lot.  Then I added the red bolero jacket and the black beret (left).

I miss that outfit. But I still have the hat.

Once I started putting on weight, I started wearing layers. It’s only now that I’m starting to wear more form-fitting stuff again, and it’s not because I’m back to my early-twenty self, it’s because I’m more accepting of my body.

I’m still a jeans and t-shirt girl. I dress up on special occasions (including bat wings if the occasion calls for it) but for the most part, I’d rather be comfortable.

Now it’s still my hair that keeps changing, it goes short, long, red, brown but that’s a whole other post…

Responses

  1. What a cool evolution, Diane! How mortifying about having your top ripped off by a drag queen! She/he must’ve been jealous.

    I’m sorry to hear about that bad accident. Glad to see you’ve recovered from it – and from the poodle perm!

    ~ V

  2. I’m a t-shirt and jeans kind of girl too! And your mullet doesn’t look that bad! Thanks for sharing!

  3. […] the original: Fashion Victim « We love YA Filed under Fashion News · Tagged with a-and-told, adopt-new, always-been, did-experiment, […]

  4. Interesting!

    The latest fashion trend in apparels today is the skinny jeans that give you a lean look. However, if you are unable to get into those, you would also be happy to put on those wide legged pants or trousers that are also hot with the fashionistas. When worn with a short narrow top and a slim fit jacket along with high heel shoes, this combination would look cool and give you that much longed for lean look.

    Try it out this season!

  5. I am so jealous of the fact that you have photos to look back on. But what an interesting fashion history you’ve had!

    I’ve always been a jeans-n-T kind of girl, and every time I try to change that, bad things happen…

  6. Kiki – ‘every time I try to change that, bad things happen.’ – there’s a story right there.

    Almost a reversal of Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants.

    Vanessa – Yes, I did recover from the poodle perm, though I did have a long spiral perm during my recovery. But I’ve been perm free now for more than 10 years.


Leave a Reply

Categories

