Posted by: Natalie Hatch | May 11, 2009

High School Reunions

My grade didn’t have a high school reunion, someone tried to organise it, but people were either A) too apathetic or B) out of the country, to get it going. So I have missed the dreaded phenomenon that is High School Reunions.

Instead I thought I’d have a look at great High School Reunion movies that should be in everyone’s video library.

Let’s start with my favourite of all time…. Grosse Point Blank

John Cusack… that’s all I have to say, if you want me to drool and watch a movie ten times over, put John Cusack in it. The guy might not be your total hunk, but he has that defining quality which *sigh* makes me happy.  He’s a free lance assassin who has to go back to his old town to do a hit, and this appointment just happens to land on the weekend of his High School Reunion. Awesome. Mini Driver plays his love interest.

The paranoia that Martin Blank (John Cusack) shows during the whole movie is superb. What would a guy who skipped his prom and went into the military, became an assassin and now works freelance, do when faced with the ultimate horror of meeting up with old high school buddies? Love this movie. The dry wit of the writers is spectacular, some of the one liners are classic. Watch it.

Next up is Peggy Sue Got Married.  The year is 1986, Peggy Sue had so many dreams when she was in high school that didn’t come to fruition, and so she’s turned up to her high school reunion with a busted marriage, a failing career, and she just wants to turn back time and redo her life over again. Kathleen Turner is Peggy Sue and she does a wonderful job of being a 40something stuck and then transported back to her 18yr old body. Nicholas Cage is her boyfriend/cheating husband. It’s a feel good movie that makes you wonder what you would do if you could turn back time.

And the next movie is Romy and Michelle’s High School Reunion. I remember going to the movies to see this and cacking myself with laughter because I could sooo relate to Michelle’s need to be seen as intelligent by the kids who did her wrong in high school. The campy clothes, the big hair, the wanting to show up all those who put you down in high school? I’m soo there baby.

Love that clip.  What about you? Did you go to your high school reunion? Or for those younger than the rest of us what would you like to do at your reunion?

Responses

  1. Great post, Natalie. I have no idea if my class has gathered for reunions over the years. I’m not sure I’d even go! Peggy Sue Got Married is one of my all-time fav time-travel movies.

  2. I watched Peggy Sue a couple of weeks ago, loved it. Wouldn’t that be a good premise for a YA book? Going back in time to fix your mistakes only to realise that because you went back in time you made them?

  3. I can’t think of anything worse than a high school reunion! Fortunately, no one’s ever tried to make me go to one.

    I think the idea of meeting people a former you used to know is just bizarre and kind of creepy. Especially if you had nothing in common back then. What are the odds you’d have anything to say to these people now?

  4. I think you get extremes to this Kiki, Martin Blank did not want to go, whereas Romy and Michelle so wanted to go to show everyone up. I am still good friends with quite a few people I went to school with, there are others though that I haven’t seen forever and I’m not fussed on seeing them again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

