Posted by: Kiki | May 20, 2009

She loves to hear the music…

Got showtunes?

There’s something magical about the world of musicals. A perfectly ordinary story comes along then BAM! Everyone breaks into song and perfectly choreographed dance.

Whether it’s a gang of finger-snapping bad guys threatening each other in synch, a cool rock n’ roller declaring his love for fast cars or a cat hoping to go to feline heaven, musicals tell stories beyond the mere music.

As a teenager, I’ve loved happy tunes from Andrew Loyd Webber to Disney movies and even the classics, like West Side Story or Grease. Or this clip from A Chorus Line.

I’ve kept up this love over the years, and you’ll often find me humming show tunes (badly out of tune) from modern shows like Wicked or Avenue Q. 

Do you think the world would be a better place if at the height of emotion, people would break out into song and dance?

 

 Does your life run with a soundtrack? Which musical song best represents who you are this week?

For me, it would be “I’m not that girl” from Wicked. How about you?

Responses

  1. This week? Possibly “Why?” from Tick, Tick… Boom!

  2. Ah, if only life were choreographed like a Golden Age of Hollywood musical! This week I’m ‘Hopelessly Devoted’ to my manuscript. There’s nowhere to hide from all the work that lies ahead of me.

  3. Sometimes when I’m cleaning or out shopping I wish a group of people would suddenly start to sing to me and do a big coordinated dance number just to cheer me up. But unfortunately they don’t, darn. My song? I like Dr Horribles Sing A Long Blog… Laundry Day (My Freeze Ray)….
    Love it, sooo much.

  4. Kind of like this Nat?

    http://video.yahoo.com/watch/4816051/12849087

    though they’re dancing, not singing.

    As for a ‘musical’ soundtrack of my life, it would have to be most of the songs from ‘Tell Me on a Sunday’ for my twenties, marking all the hook-ups followed by break-ups.

    Now I would like it to be “Defying Gravity” – that would be cool.

    But perhaps it’s more likely “I’m just a girl who can’t say no.” What a task done? Sure I’m your girl. I’m sure you know that one, Kiki.

  5. And here’s another example of ‘spontaneous’ musicals:

  6. Hahaha, I love the food court musical!
    Awesomeness.

  7. The Food Court Musical is fun. I’ll be revisiting the Improv Everywhere page on You Tube today to check out some of their other ‘performance art.’


Leave a Reply

Categories

