Posted by: Natalie Hatch | June 1, 2009

I Feel The Need, The Need For Speed!

Do you write fast or slow? What’s the best way to write? Has anyone broken the rules of writing and gotten away with it? These and many other questions will be summarily ignored whilst I wax lyrical about the challenge I am in right now. Starting today I must write 50,000 words before the end of June. So I have 30 days to complete my task.  This is in between working, taking care of kidlets, and general everyday stuff that gets in the way. Myself and a few other women who should know better (Di Curran I’m pointing at you!) signed up to do this challenge last year and most of us completed it. This year we have more people and more goals. So Di and I need you to keep us on our toes, because I for one am a procrastinatory creature, who would prefer to hide in my bedroom listening to loud angsty music and complain about how I don’t have time/talent/time/energy… Please feel free to remind me that I should be writing.

I need to write approx. 1700 words a day to complete this challenge. Kick me in the ankles if I slack off.

What about you? Do you set yourself goals/challenges to help push your story along? Do editorial deadlines loom up before you know it and threaten to swallow you whole? Or are you organised and get things done well within the time limit?

Responses

  1. Good luck, Natalie! I’m all over the place with my writing regime – it changes from book to book.

  2. Thanks Vanessa. The start of the month always shows promise. Talk to me in two weeks time when I’m slogging through the hard bits. LOL


Leave a Reply

Categories

