Posted by: Diane Curran | June 10, 2009

Author interview: Cyn Balog – Fairy Tale

It’s Paranormal Week on We Love YA!

Today I interview Cyn Balog, author of YA novel, Fairy Tale, which is available next week. (Delacorte, June 23, 2009)

Fairy Tale by Cyn Balog

Fairy Tale by Cyn Balog

The Story:
Morgan Sparks and Cam Browne are a match made in heaven. They’ve been best friends since birth, they tell each other everything, and oh yeah- they’re totally hot for each other.

But a week before their joint Sweet Sixteen bash, everything changes. Cam’s awkward cousin Pip comes to stay, and Morgan is stunned when her formerly perfect boyfriend seems to be drifting away.

When Morgan demands answers, she’s shocked to discover the source of Cam’s distance isn’t another girl- it’s another world. Pip claims that Cam is a fairy. No, seriously. A fairy. And now his people want Cam to return to their world and take his rightful place as Fairy King.

Determined to keep Cam with her, Morgan plots to fool the fairies. But as Cam continues to change, she has to decide once and for all if he really is her destiny, and if their “perfect” love can weather an uncertain future.

And now, we hear from Cyn:

Tell us a little about the genesis of Fairy Tale.

I think I was lying in bed.  And I wanted to write a story about a perfect love that fades, but I also wanted to write a paranormal.  This was before the fairy craze had started, and I just loved fairies.  So I decided to write about them, but even then, the girl who learns she is a fairy princess was pretty overdone.  So I decided to make the guy the fairy.

Who are your literary inspirations? Which book made you realise that you also wanted to be a writer?

I think I wanted to be a writer just because I loved all kinds of books.  When I was young I would just tear through hundreds of books a year.  But I think the first writer I ever wanted to be like was Judy Blume.

Are you a pantser or a plotter?

I do have an idea where I want things to end up, but I write by the seat of my pants for the first few chapters, then… somewhere near the middle, I sketch out all the scenes to get me to that ending point.  So a little of both, I guess!

When you write a scene, do you visualise it as a movie, or do you hear your characters speak? So what comes first, the vision or the audio?

Probably the vision.  I see the actions first and seem to get that down right away.  I am always tweaking the dialogue afterwards, saying, “No, that is not how that person would say it!”

Tell us about your path to publication. How did you find out you were going to be published?

I had written two books previously while working with my agent.  The first was lightly shopped and didn’t sell, and the second one my agent wasn’t enthusiastic about.  I wrote FAIRY TALE and she encouraged me to finish.  She sent it out one day in September, and I was told that if it was going to sell well, I would hear something quickly.  But I didn’t hear anything at all for 6 weeks.  Then my agent called me and said, “Stephanie Lane at Delacorte loves it.”  I was thinking, “Great, now they’ll take it into acquisitions and maybe they’ll want to buy it” and that was when she told me they’d offered a pre-empt.  I was at work but I screamed and cried anyway, I was so surprised and excited.

Do you have any fairies living in the bottom of your garden?

That would require me to have a garden, and since every living thing I touch turns to mush, I would say, no.

What advice would you give to teen writers?

Don’t let anyone tell you that you’re too young to write and get your work published.  I was told that as a kid and spend many years fending off the urge to write because I thought it was impossible.  It’s not.  If you love it, do it, no matter what anyone says, and good things will eventually come to you.

Thank you for being our guest at We Love YA, Cyn and we hope Fairy Tale flies off the shelves for you.

And there is a cool contest happening over at Brooke Taylor’s Book blog to win a copy of Fairy Tale and other goodies. You just need to add to the growing fairy tale in the comments!

Responses

  1. Another one to add to my long list of TBRs. I think I might ask people to stop writing for a moment while I catch up. Great interview.

  2. With a premise like that, I’m not surprised FAIRY TALE was snapped up by Delacorte, Cyn! I love that your hero is a fairy king. Glad you gave in to the urge to write.

    Fab interview, Diane!

  3. I am currently reading this and loving it!

  4. eh. really like it )


Leave a Reply

Categories

