Posted by: Natalie Hatch | June 15, 2009

Kiki’s book release!

My friend Kiki Lon’s fantabulous book “Enter the Parrot” is being released this week, so in celebration I thought I’d have a look at Kung Fu and share a review of her book. You have to get it. It’s great, fast paced, with two hot guys to choose from. I have it from my teenage daughter’s lips that she LIKES this book!

‘Enter the Parrot’ By Kiki Lon.

A typical, young Californian girl named Jade Ascott ended up with a Chinese family after her birth mother dumped her. She’s grown up in the Chinese culture and is accepted as another part of the family. She has a crush on the cutest boy at school, Cedric Walsh, the typical looking California surfer with a twist, he’s eco friendly. Her life changes when Jade’s grandfather’s parrot mysteriously goes missing and he asks her to find it.

Gung-gung, Chinese name for her mum’s dad, tells her that his kung-fu master gave it to him as an inheritance and that five other students recieved one too. Each parrot thinks it’s a character from a movie. There’s Bruce Lee, Captain Jack Sparrow, Buffy, Inigo Montoya and Obi-Wan Kenobi. Each of them have three sayings, their name, a clue and the next bird to find. “What for?” you might say, well to find the treasure of Sifu Wei, the leader of the Monkeys of course.

The Monkeys are a secret kung-fu society that tests its students to see whether they are ready for more training. On a journey to find the missing treasure, Jade not only captures the heart of Cedric but also her assigned protector, TF (Wei Tsung Fat). Jade loses some of her friends trust and also learns to  stand up to the school bullies.

Enter the Parrot has an excellent story line and is a fast paced read. Oh and Cedric and TF are gorgeous!

Jade isn’t the sort of girl who takes weekend shopping trips to Los Angeles. She shops at the local mall and packs her own lunch. Her friend Fazza is a Muslim girl who practices her religion and is often called napkin head. Her other friend, Alex, is an absolute Kung-fu movie junkie who spends endless weekend movie marathons of them.

Cedric (insert sigh here) is the typical blue-eyed, blond-haired hottie who falls for Jade. He is all for saving the planet and thinks Jade is the “…most beautiful girl he has ever met.”

TF is a sexy, mysterious and muscled protector who is an absolute bad boy and makes you want your own TF. I know I want a TF. He helps Jade when asked and also falls for her.

This is a very interesting, mind-blowing book that will give you chills and melt your heart at the same time. If you like a good martial arts book mixed with a bit of the romance, this is the book. I don’t remember a time that I have been so into martial arts stories, but hey! Always expect the unexpected I guess.

This is the guy I have cast as TF, without Kiki’s permission, I think she’ll forgive me. Oh and here’s my Cedric.

Anyway, look out for Kiki’s book, I couldn’t put it down.

Responses

  1. Okay this totally looks like a book right up my alley. I’ll have to check it out! 🙂

  2. Amy it’s a great story, I like it a lot.

  3. Wow – it’s June!!! Congrats Kiki on the release. Definitely on the ‘to buy’ list!! Thanks for reminding us Nat.

  4. This is sounds awesome. Totally Awesome and as soon as my deadline’s done I’m totally into this book.

  5. Do yourself a favour Tracey and get the book. I love the fight scenes, girl kung fu!

  6. YAY KIKI!!!!

    Has zoomed to the top of my TBR list!!!

  7. It’s a brilliant read, and I highly recommend it! Jade is a fantastic character, and TF and Cedric are hotties. The girls are going to LOVE them!

    Good luck with the release, Kiki!

  8. You are *so* my casting director from now on, Nat! Great choices.

  9. WooHoo Kiki. Release date finally here. Good luck. Hope it sells its socks off.


Leave a Reply

Categories

