Posted by: Kiki | June 19, 2009

I’m late to my own party!

I’m late! I’m late!

But I have a great excuse.

You see, I was “stuck” (and by stuck, I mean having a grand time) in Hong Kong, the home of martial arts as most people know it. And when your choice is to go and explore a new city or blog about your book coming up… Well, we were only there for a few days, what can I say?

EntertheParrot_w2484_300But today is the day! Enter The Parrot is now available through Amazon, or, even better, directly from The Wild Rose Press. It’s all a bit surreal, but that might be the jetlag…

But I’m not too fuzzy-brained for a give-away!
And not just one, but FOUR awesome prizes are up for grabs!

I’m giving away three e-books of Enter The Parrot as well as some other virtual goodies, and the grand prize is one actual paperback of Enter The Parrot together witha  martial arts goodie basket, put together on three continents.

You have until next Friday to reply to this blog post for your chance to win! All you have to do is tell me either how learning martial arts has helped you, or how you think martial arts would help you in your life. ^_^

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to unpack.

Responses

  1. Aha, an actual paperback copy, now that’s what I want. I’m going to email my librarian to get a copy in. That should start the ball rolling. Hey maybe if everyone emails their local librarian requesting your book the sales will soar… library book bomb time.

  2. Woohooo, Kiki congrats on the release.

    And you’re the star of the party, so it’s fashionable to be late! And Hong Kong, how could you resist exploring.

    I’ve been meaning to start up Chi Kung to help with my overall health. Haven’t yet though. 😦

    And Nat, good idea re contacting your local library. I’m going to start up a list. 🙂

  3. Hi Kiki,
    sounds like you have a great time overseas!
    My daughter wants to start a combination of kickboxing and MA. Not sure I could handle more than Thai Chi at the moment though 🙂
    Look forward to reading ETP!

  4. Hi, Kiki. Martial arts would help me with discipline, discipline, discipline, especially when it comes to limiting my time over at I Can Has Cheezburger and YouTube.

  5. Vanessa since I found out there was a bucket load of Richard Armitage and David Tennant videos on youtube I have been wasting time, I think when I’m writing I need to ban youtube and facebook all together.

  6. Yay, the party girl has made it! Woohoo, Kiki.

    And just in time for the actual release.

    A bit of martial arts training when I was young – maybe I would have been a bit more coordinated. Now, I just have to make do with what I’ve got. (no entry to competition required).

    Have fun unpacking.

  7. Hi Kiki!
    Congratulations on the launch of Enter The Parrot! I’m really thrilled for you!! And you’ve obviously had a fab holiday in Hong Kong – going to the source!

    Vanessa – I was thinking the martial arts discipline would be very very handy too….. and then I visited I can Haz Cheezburgerz…. oh, dear, I’m hooked…. something else I need to resist!

    :))
    Sharon

  8. Hey KIKI
    I do Tai Chi. My DS has ASD so I need HEAPS of patience. Tai chi helps with that. Although I am sooo uncoordinated that its a laugh as well lol.

    I’m also thinking of taking up fencing. Umm writer with a sword, sort of scary.

    Good luck with your launch and I’ll see you in August!!
    🙂
    Kelly Ethan

  9. Hey Kiki

    Sooooo happy for the release – this is such a wonderful day ( ok like always I’m late… but forgive me ok.)

    Hope you marked the day with something special to remember always – it such a great day.

    Well done my friend. Hugs.

    Bye 4 now
    Tina

  10. […] don’t forget Kiki’s contest to win a copy of Enter the Parrot here.  Or buy Kiki’s book […]

  11. Congrats on your book release!

    The closest I get to MA is my initials ie Melissa Ann, although I’d love to do it just to get a bit of that Charlie’s Angels action!

  12. I know a friend of a friend who’s size 14, a black belt in karate and by far the hottest chick I know. What makes her hot? It’s the way she lives her life. The few stories she can tell over a drink or two about rescuing her boyfriend from a mad-man and more would inspire any woman to kick butt.
    I remember beating a green belt at my very first tournament at the age of 8 and how pumped I was for weeks afterward. I’m looking forward to returning to martial arts soon and being the fearless mother this time. There’s something sexy about a Mum that could take down any size man!
    Perhaps a paperback copy of Enter the Parrot could give me some new tips?

  13. Hi Kiki!
    Congrats on your release. It sounds wonderful. How I wish I could sport a title like Enter the Parrot! (sigh)
    Can’t wait to read it!

    ann x

  14. WHOOOOOOOOOOOO HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Kiki!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m so proud of you!!

    I always wanted to do Tai Chi with a teacher – have some DVDs which I use from time to time – and I do it as much for inner peace and relaxation as trying to help keep my body supple. So a supple mind and supple body.

    Hugs
    Serena

  15. I want to do kung fu, but my dad is against it. :((
    Once I go to college, I want to take a kung fu class. I’ve always loved kung fu movies. I think kung fu heroines are so strong.

  16. Nat,
    I’m all in favour of letting your librarians know about the book. In fact, that’s a fantastic idea!
    I’ve got promo postcards, if anyone wants to drop some off at their local bookshop or library, too… ^_^

    Some great martial arts tales here already. I’ll draw a winner from these tonight. Thanks for sharing!

  17. Hey Kiki my librarian has already ordered your book for me. Woohoo, I’ve got a great librarian did I tell you that? I think we need a librarian appreciation day soon.
    I’ll take some promo postcards if you’ve got them, they go like hotcakes at the library here.

  18. Kiki – ack – I’m sooooooooooo late here but mega congratulations. I love, love, love the cover and I can’t wait to read the book!!!

    As for martial arts is it wrong that I want to do the wax on, wax off thing?


Leave a Reply

Categories

