Posted by: amandaashby | June 26, 2009

Win a copy of ‘Giving up the V’ by Serena Robar

 

 

 

 

 

 

First up I would like to say ‘sorry, sorry, sorry’ for the number of blog posts I have missed over here at weloveya. I am the very worst of bloggers and believe me when I say that I’ve given myself a strict talking to. Second, I would like to say ‘you cannot see me, and I am not here’ since I still have a lot of revisions to do before my deadline on Monday.

However, I’ve come out of my writing cave to tell you about  Serena Robar‘s new book. Even better, Serena has come bearing gifts! Yup, that’s right, in order to celebrate her new book, Giving up the V, she is giving up a book (see what she did there? Cute, right). But I get ahead of myself.

 

I first met Serena after I signed with my agent, Jenny Bent and the minute I read the blurb for her debut book, Braced2Bite, I knew she was going to be my kind of writer. And, it turned out I was sooo right! We’re no longer agent sisters since Serena has now signed with the wonderful (and ridiculously young looking) Holly Root!!! But despite that she is still one of my fav writers and I’m dying to read her new book, and here is why:

 

What’s So Wrong With Waiting
Spencer Davis just turned sixteen. But unlike most hormonal teenagers who seem obsessed with sex — like her entire crew of friends — Spencer just doesn’t get it. She’d rather wait for the right guy and the right moment. But that moment may be arriving sooner than she’d thought.
Enter Benjamin Hopkins, a new transfer student who seems to have his eyes on our V-card-carrying heroine. He’s gorgeous, funny, suave, athletic, and capable of making Spencer’s knees wobble with a single glance. Spencer has never felt this way about anyone before, but is Ben truly V-worthy?

 

 

See, told you it looked amazing! Anyway, Serena has kindly agreed to answer a few make or break questions and at the end, don’t forget to leave a comment to go in with the chance to win a copy of Giving up the V. You know you want to!

1 How did you first get the idea for your current book?

The inspiration for the story came when I was sitting in the doctor’s office for my yearly GYN visit. A harried, fifty-something male doctor was talking to the young female receptionist. He asked her what “Giving up the V” meant. It seemed his last patient was a teen girl who was there because her mother wanted her on the Pill, but she told the doctor she wasn’t ready to give up the V yet. I knew instantly I had to tell that story.

2 I often say that everything I know about writing has come from Buffy. Is there any movie/tv show/book/author that you think has helped your writing career?

It’s funny you should mention Buffy because my last books were a humorous vampire series and I watched all 8 seasons of Buffy in 3 weeks. We are talking 6+ episodes a day. It was the first time I watched the show and absolutely loved it. I think Joss Whedon is pure genius. That being said, there are some other great writers out there. I would have to say Jane Espenson who wrote for Buffy is certainly noteworthy, but book authors that really know their craft, I would have to say Scott Westerfeld, Stephenie Meyer, JK Rowling, etc. The list is long but anyone that can keep you flipping pages without wanting to stop is someone you can learn from. See, it’s this hardcore committment to watching Buffy that makes me like this girl so much!!!!!

3 What’s a normal writing day for you? Depends on how close to deadline I am .

I am one of those odd writers who love deadline mode. I really get a writer’s high from writing for 8-10 hours straight. To be so involved in the storyline and know that you can’t slow down makes me truly connect. It drives my family crazy. Of course, that is very hard to do for any length of time so I would say an average day would consist of writing about 2 hours and then editing for another 2 hours. Plotting takes up a huge amount of time and it’s hard to quantify because it looks like I am doing nothing when I sit on my couch and stare off into space but I am working out conflict, scene structure and dialogue. Only when I have a detailed synopsis do I feel like I truly accomplishing anything on the couch.

4 The best blooper I’ve ever done as a writer was when I had my heroine hand the hero something. Problem was they were sharing the same body at the time! So to help lessen my embarrasment, I’d love to know what your best writing blooper is and did someone catch it before your book went into print?

Oh, I wrote a novella in Fendi, Ferragamo and Fangs where my heroine jumped on a plane from Seattle to New York and I had her suffer from jet lag because she thought it was three hours later in New York when actually, it was three hours earlier. Sort of a glaring faux paux when she is complaining that its midnight and she is soooo tired because she thinks its 3 am when really it would be 9 pm for her. Not even the copyeditor caught it. Such a silly mistake, but every writer makes them once in a while.

5 And now for the big question. Zombies – love them, hate them, couldn’t eat a whole one? Enquiring minds want to know.

You know, before Zombie Queen I would have been in the ‘hate them’ camp. How could anyone love a Zombie? Then you made it so fun and sure, there was that pesky they-are-gonna-eat-everyone possibility but without a good conflict there is no story, right? Now I have to say I kind of dig ‘em. As long as they aren’t hungry, that is.

Awh – I do like that I’ve converted another living dead fan (though of course if they do rise up and eat Serena, it totally wasn’t my fault!). Anyway, don’t forget to leave a comment and go in with a chance to win!

(please note this competition has been cross posted over at my blog as well and I’ll be putting all the entries in together – though if you really want to win, you are welcome to comment over there as well and then you’ll have two chances!!!!)

Responses

  1. I would love to write 8 hours straight, one day, one day. And yep Joss Whedon is a genius. I think it’s great that the girl in the clinic wasn’t ready to give up the V, good on her for thinking for herself. Can’t wait to read this one.

  2. I’m surprised that the doctor wasn’t smart enough to make the connection as to what the V was.

    Sounds like a fun read!

  3. Buffy = awesome


Leave a Reply

Categories

