Posted by: Natalie Hatch | June 29, 2009

This is What Dreams Are Made Of…

Yeah okay so I’ve got an old Van Halen song stuck in my head.

This week we’re looking at dreams. I tend to have very vivid, sort of weird dreams. Nothing as spectacular as the old Stephenie Meyer wake up and write an entire book that becomes a mega seller thing, but during the writing process I’ll wake in the middle of the night and have a scene that I need to get down to further my story. During the quite hours of the morning it’s much easier for me to write (mainly due to the fact that I don’t have two year old twins trying to sit on me and help me type).

During your normal sleep time your brain goes through a sort of roller coaster ride of sorting out images/sounds/smells/experiences and trying to make sense of things. Studies have shown that there are certain times of the night when your ‘dreams’ occur and some of these dreams can seem so real that your body actually experiences the gamut of emotions that you would in real life. I’ve woken up a few times with tears or feeling very angry (feel sorry for my hubby if the dream is about him and I’m narky at him for a while).

Have I ever had a dream that has turned into a story? No, but a few have turned into scenes and I have a couple of short stories that came from dreams.

What about dream interpretations? Are they for real?

hmmmm, well I know  that having a dream about a way to blow up the sun by throwing large gaseous planets at the thing might sound weird, but I needed to work it out so I can plot further into my book.  -by the way you can’t do it, it’ll just absorb the matter and not do too much damage, so I have to find another way to start a supernova… darn.

I often have dreams where I can fly, and looking up the interpretation of it I felt a bit disappointed. Especially when they say this:  feeling fear when you are flying or that you feel that you are flying too high, then it suggests that you are afraid of challenges and of success.

I think they’re wrong with that interpretation, but anyway. Here’s a few places you can go to see what your dream might mean.

Dreammoods

Sleeps

I wonder if Stephenie looked up what sparkly vampires meant? –You will write a multimillion dollar best seller and be the inspiration for thousands of teens to pick up books again?– Yeah that would be my guess.

What’s the weirdest thing that you’ve dreamt of? (keeping it G rated of course).

Responses

  1. I love dreams about flying! It’s such a glorious feeling when you’re diving and climbing through the air. Landing sucks sometimes.

    The weirdest dream I had was kind of interactive. (I promise it’s G-rated! Well, maybe PG). I dreamt I punched my sister. Don’t know what we were fighting about but it ended in a massive wallop. The next morning, my sister told me she dreamt I’d punched her.

    We’re still not sure whether I actually sleepwalked and really did hit her. She didn’t wake up with a black eye, so that was good. Wonder what Freud would say about that!


Leave a Reply

Categories

