Posted by: Diane Curran | September 6, 2009

Caffeine Withdrawals

I’m back!

Things have been very hectic around my place lately.

As well as joining the Romance of Writers Australia committee, writing and re-writing job applications for the job I’m currently doing (job interview Tuesday, shhh! – don’t tell my brain), participating in EIAW, trying to also edit in a month, and prepare entries for the STALI, in the midst of all this chaos, I have given up Coca-Cola, my main form of caffeine.

I had intended to give it up when I was on holidays a few weeks ago, right after arriving back home from the fabulous Byron Bay Writers Festival. But faced with the six selection criteria for the job app, I could not do it. Coke sustained me through that process. And I watched that week off fly by, with hardly a word edited or written on my fiction. I’d rather be writing fiction than trying to mould fact to selection criteria.

On  Friday  last week, I weighed myself and got the shock of my life.  I work in a sedantary job — and that and the Coke had really taken its toll. I won’t bore you with the figures here, but it was a large enough difference (from the last time I weighed myself)  to wake me up. I decided Coke was no longer a lifestyle choice and was banished from the next day.

It’s now Day 9 of no Coke.

Day 2 and Day 4 were quite horrendous with caffeine withdrawal headaches and fatigue most of the day. Yesterday was not much better with a migraine in the evening – however I think I’m through the worst of it. And now it’s about balancing the awake/sleep factor so I can function like a human being while still achieving everything I need to achieve without artificial stimulants.

BTW, I still get some caffeine hits from chocolate, but even the chocolate consumption has been reduced.  But I’m not counting it out entirely.  A girl has to have one vice, at least!

Responses

  1. You go Di! It’s been over 20 years since I last had a drink of the black death and I don’t even like the smell anymore. But coming off it was hard, headaches, shakes, man it was rough.

  2. Good luck with the withdrawals!
    Well done on making such a healthy choice for yourself.

    You should be over the worse. After 7 days of withdrawal, your body should go into repair mode. And after 21 days, you’ll be clean!

    We’re here to cheer you on. What are you drinking instead now?

  3. Thanks, girls.

    I’ve given it up before for 6 months or so – and then I think just one, but just one becomes just many. I’ve been through that pattern a few times to know that I’m an ‘all or nothing’ girl. Once I get through this job interview, I will know I can survive anything without turning to the evil black liquid.

    Kiki – mostly I’m drinking water. I’ve had 2 cans of lime & lemon mineral water in the last week and I’m having my first and probably only glass of ginger beer for the day now. Haven’t done coffee since I was about 10 and no longer like the taste so I should be fine.

  4. You drank coffee when you were ten? O_o

    How are the coke-less days going for you?


Leave a Reply

Categories

