Posted by: Diane Curran | September 27, 2009

Got vamp?

It seems these days that vampires are everywhere:  in books, in movies and bursting out all over our TV screens.

movie_cam.jpe

A year ago, I read the Twilight series and immediately aligned myself to Team Edward.

But then the movie came out, and I turned.  (No, not in that way – haven’t actually been bitten by a vampire).

I joined Team James – the seductive voice of Cam Gigandet could lure me to a ballet studio anytime. And I can’t dance at all.

But then I branched out a bit in the vampire book world and read Boys that Bite by Mari Mancusi, and fell for Magnus.

Let’s face it, I’m a fickle girl when it comes to vampires.

Haven’t read the sequels yet as I’ve loaned Stake That to a work friend and it’s yet to find it’s way back to me.

Before Edward briefly swiped my heart (well up until the point where he did the vamp c-section), I was a Sinclair fan. Sinclair, King of the Vampires in the Undead and Unwed series. (Warning this is not a YA series)

And still there are plenty more vampire books  left for me to read: I still haven’t read Thirsty by MT Anderson (though absolutely loved the non-vamp Feed) , Peeps by Scott Westerfield, The Vampire Diaries, Vampire Academy… the list goes on.

TrueBloodEricBut then there’s television.

I’m into the second series of True Blood – have just watched episode 2 and I’m hanging out for Episode 3, especially now that Eric has had his make-over.

Yummy!

(Haven’t yet read any of the Charlaine Harris series – too many books, too little time!)

And Vampire Diaries starts this week on GO! Plus I’ve got Moonlight to watch over the long weekend.

Vamps everywhere.

Don’t forget there’s still time to win the first four books of the Vampire Academy series by leaving a comment at the end the Vampire Academy post. Entries close 30 September.

And tell me, what is your favourite vampire series?  Or would you rather read something else entirely?

Responses

  1. I’ve read ‘almost’ (still reading the third) 3 different series of Vampire books and have to say that I enjoyed Vampire Academy and Twilight the best. I know that Meyer has received a lot of flack from the literary world over her simple writing style, but I believe that it is the simple writing style that has won her praise from the readers of her stories. Both stories are relatively easy to read with equally enjoyable storylines. Both have somewhat predictable plot lines and profound epic love stories. Each author generates a love for their characters and promotes a great sense of loyalty among their readers. They both get my vote. A good read and hard to put down.

  2. I started out as a Team Edward too, then began edging toward Team Switzerland (I couldn’t decide!)… now, thanks to a full re-read of all books and the New Moon trailers, I believe I am Team Jacob, woo! 🙂

    Twilight series were the first vampire books I read. I’m definitely a fan, but Vampire Academy has recently won me over even more. I love them! I read the first Vampire Diaries book, but I couldn’t really get into it. However the show, I’m really liking it. I don’t get GO in my area so I’ve been watching online with the US. For some reason Stefan and Damon both look hotter after the first episode… heh.

    Anyway, I haven’t read a lot of vamp books but I’d like to read more! I’ve started reading Jessica’s Guide To Dating on the Dark Side at the moment, so we’ll see how that goes 🙂

  3. I’m going to venture in to say if Richard Armitage ever ever ever makes a vampire series I will convert. Until then vamps just aren’t my thing. I don’t like the solitary possessiveness, their OCD would be enough to drive me insane.
    4wq3q

  4. Do you remember when Malibu Barbie first came out, everybody had to have one? Well that Christmas, I asked for Black (i.e. African American) Barbie.

    And when everyone was buying Michael Jackson’s records I listened to Simon & Garfunkel on 45’s.

    And when too-much-makeup was hot, I went makeup free.

    Last fall I read all of the twilight novels in 10 days or something like that. Loved ’em. But I’ve had my fill. I think I’m ready to dance to the beat of a different drum now.

    Over the summer I read Sarah Dessen’s LOCK AND KEY and Lauren Barnholdt’s TWO-WAY STREET and thoroughly enjoyed both of these realistic YA novels. I think the next book I buy will be another Sarah Dessen. But I must say quite honestly, that I’ve heard good things about Vampire Academy, and it’s tempting…

  5. I’ve gone through several vampire phases. From Anne Rice to the classic 19th century tales, from Twilight to Sweetblood. Give me fangs and I’m there!
    I absolutely love Mari Mancusi’s vampire series, because they’re funny. Funny vampires are so much better than broody cape-y vamps!
    Fortunately, we have very different taste in vamps, Di, so we could safely go out looking for fang without having to fight over the spoils. ^_^
    My current vave vampire book is Scott Westerfeld’s Peeps. Creepy in a different way.

  6. Scott’s book Peeps was good wasn’t it. I soo want to read his next one “Leviathan”… heard good things.


Leave a Reply

Categories

