Posted by: amandaashby | October 8, 2009

The zombies are coming…

Copy_of_zombie_queen_of_newbury_high

 

Actually, they’re already here. That’s right folks, ZOMBIE QUEEN OF NEWBURY HIGH is now available in Australia and New Zealand through Penguin. Actually, it was available from the end of August but in a supreme amount of slackness on my behalf I forgot to mention it sooner.

Of course if any of you had ever dealt with zombies before you would realize that I am completely blameless in this error. I mean seriously, those flesh-muching, living dead idiots never give me a moments peace. It’s always ‘why isn’t there any fingers to go with my sauted liver?‘ and ‘who says that it’s wrong to eat the mailman. Especially when he has such good legs. If he didn’t want me to eat him then he shouldn’t be wearing those shorts.’

See what I’m dealing with here?

Anyway, apart from being driving crazy by the marauding zombies who continue to invade my personal space, I thought that in order to celebrate it would be nice to actually give away a copy of ZOMBIE QUEEN OF NEWBURY HIGH. And, if you would like, I could even throw in your very own zombie (though I do have to warn you that I can’t be held responsible for any family members that they might choose to eat).

So what is the book about? Here is the skinny:

Quiet, unpopular, non-cheerleading Mia is blissfully happy. Rob-super hot football god-has asked her to prom! Life couldn’t get any better. Enter Samantha -cheerleader queen and Miss Popularity-who has made it quite clear that Rob should be her prom date. Mia is desperate to make sure she doesn’t end up dumped in front of the whole school. So with prom in just a few days, she turns to Candice-her holistic, hypochondriac best friend-and decides to try a love spell to make Rob stay with her. Unfortunately, she ends up inflicting a zombie virus on her whole class instead, and she is their zombie leader! At first she loves all the attention. But when she learns from zombie hunter hottie Chase that her classmates will actually try to eat her in a few days, she’s not too thrilled. She’s sure she and Chase can figure something out, but in the meantime, she’s suggesting that no one wear white to prom, because things could get very messy.

And how can you win this tasty morsel of delight? Easy peasy. All you need to do is leave a comment and tell me how you would be best survive a zombie attack (though let me give you one little tip. That whole playing dead thing soooo won’t work because despite the fact that most zombies don’t have noses thanks to degeneration, they still have an amazing sense of smell and they would spring your ruse and have you tied up in a tasty little rack of human with mashed potatoes and apple sauce before you could even say ‘whoopsie’). Good luck!!!

Responses

  1. Hi Amanda. 🙂 Hey, I saw Shaun of the Dead. It was gross. I don’t think I could pretend to be dead. There’s nothing wrong with *my* sense of smell, either, and I could smell them coming a mile off.
    Okay. How to survive a zombie attack? Hmm. I think fire. Click. Whooosh. Take *that* you undead varmit! Barbecued Zombie.
    Yup. From now on I’ll wander around with a large flamethrower. Oh, and buy some really good running shoes in case I run out of gas.
    Would that work? 🙂

  2. Go the Zombies! I think they get to have more fun.

  3. The book sounds great.
    I think i’d get a really big axe. Legs chopped off and they’d be pretty slow dragging on their arms, no?

  4. I’d escape them by going on a boat with enough supplies and sail off as far as I need to. I don’t think zombies can swim and I’m sure they don’t know how to operate boats 🙂

  5. Decoys, that’s what I’d use. A snowman or a guy as in Guy Fawkes or a scarecrow. I’d put Blitzem or Slug Slam aound the decoy because that’s real good at stopping slimy things in their tracks. Then I’d run like fury – because I’m no Chuck Norris – I’m really a scaredy cat, and I’m kinda attached to the little brain I have 🙂

  6. I don’t suppose garlic and holy water works on zombies too? If not, I hope I can outrun them.

    I was sooo excited to see Zombie Queen earned a ‘staff pick’ from the Better Read Than Dead bookstore here in Sydney, Amanda!

  7. If you can’t beat ’em, join ’em! I’d pretend to be one!

  8. Gracie – when the zombies come – I’m hanging with you because you’ve got it all sorted!!!!

    Natalie – well they don’t have to worry about which fork to use first at the dinner table, that’s for sure!!!

    Bec – very evil and very funny! Good plan!!!

    Anon – oh, boat – good thinking!!!

    Clare – hehehe -yes, brains are handy – don’t let a zombie get it!!!

    Vanessa – actually they don’t like water. Little known zombie fact number 8!!! And yay about Zombie being a staff pick. Definitely made my day to hear there!!

    Saffie – oh, crafty!!!!!!!

  9. I would find the nearest gun shop and hole up in there. I’d have a baseball bat and a stun gun with me on the way… and use that to keep them away.

    Oh and a few brain flavored zombie treats to throw at them to distract them… and a spare change of clothes that smells like decay to take them off my scent…

  10. Well first off, no playing dead for me, as long as you’re still warm, zombies munch you.

    I’m going to go with carry a big stick or club would do, use heads are baseballs. No head, no teeth…no teeth, no munching.

    Fire seems to work well too, makes good kindling.

    (you can always go with hide in a barracked house….right, that always works….until they climb through a window, bite you, and infect you too.)

    Dottie 🙂

  11. I’ll stock up on food supplies and shotguns and sit it out 😀

  12. Kristen – hehehe – I love the brain-flavoured zombie treats! A definite classic!!!

    Dottie – I like how you think ahead (oops – bad zombie pun on my behalf. It’s a disease, I tell you!!!)

    Llehn – make sure you get lots of chocolate!!!!!!

  13. I hire a bunch of tough, muscular army guys to protect me of course! 😉

  14. You need a lot of Ammo and Guns. Shoot them in the head and they will be dead. You could try holding up in a mall but I heard that did not work out so well 🙂 Maybe a penthouse suite in a tall building. I don’t think the undead can work with stairs too well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

