Posted by: amandaashby | October 21, 2009

Book review: Strange Angels

Sometimes I love my life. Not only do I write ya books but I also work part-time in the teen section of my local library which means I have the perfect excuse to read ya books all day and night! Anyway, lately I’ve been going through a big paranormal phase ( no surprise really since I sort of write them myself!).

Strange_angel_book_cover

Anyway, after having finished Richelle Mead’s Blood Promise, I was really worried that I would never find another book to live up to her stella writing. Thankfully, I had Strange Angels by Lili St. Crow on my nightstand and it was the perfect follow up.

Actually, despite never having read of any of Lili’s adult books, I’ve been a long time fan of her blog posts and she has given me many light bulb moments over the years so it was really no surprise that her books are just as wise and witty as her other writing.

Strange Angels is the story of Dru Anderson who has been trained by her father to help him hunt supernatural creatures but when he turns up as a zombie, not only does she have to kill him, but she is forced to go from being a helper to being a fighter. The story itself is rich and compelling and Dru is the perfect balance of feisty and vulnerable all at the same time. Even better, the second book, Betrayals is coming out next month (though I might have a copy of it already – mwhahaha!)

Here is the official skinny:

Dad? Zombie.
Mum? Long gone.
Me? Well, that’s the scary part.

Dru Anderson has been ‘strange’ for as long as she can remember, travelling from town to town with her father to hunt the things that go bump in the night. It’s a weird life, but a good one – until it all explodes in a broken-down town when a hungry zombie busts through her kitchen door. Alone, terrified, and trapped, Dru’s going to need every inch of her wit and training to stay alive. Chances of survival? Slim to none.

If she can’t last until sun up, it’s game over…

So, if you like Twilight, love the House of Night and can’t get enough of The Vampire Academy then Strange Angels is definitely the book for you!

Responses

  1. Hi, Amanda! Loved your review. Imagine having to kill your dad ’cause he’s a zombie! I’ll have to read the book to see how Dru copes with that.


Leave a Reply

Categories

