Posted by: Diane Curran | November 15, 2009

A spot of time travelling…

I’ve just got back from seeing The Time Traveler’s Wife, so I thought I would post about time travel today.

time_travelers_wife_intI enjoyed the movie: it was sweet, it featured a whole lot of Eric Bana (and I’d never complain about that) and it dealt with the time travel issue in interesting ways.  (I always thought it strange that the time travellers wouldn’t take advantage of knowing the future to make life more comfortable…but Henry had no such scruples).

There were some plot holes that stood out to me…why did Henry never vanish when he was in front of  a whole crowd of people?  That really would have caused some chaos in their lives.

Perhaps I need to read the book. I did start it a while ago, but I guess I just wasn’t in the mood for time travel at the time because I didn’t get too far into it.

time_traveler_s_wife13

 

But seriously…how annoying would it be to have a hubby that just vanished like that (especially on your wedding night!)  Honey, can you put the garbage out? Guess not, he’s gone back to visit me as a kid instead.  Very convenient alibi for hubby though!

There are a couple of other classic time travel movies I can think of from my younger years.

The Back to the Future trilogy starring Michael J Fox will always be a favourite, especially Back to the Future 2 where Marty McFly really starts to mess with time.

But my favourite time travel has to be Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure. bill&ted

This is just sheer fun and great escapism.

Party on Dudes!  Keanu didn’t have to have any acting ability in that one – he just played a dude.

 

So I’ve been thinking about where I’d time travel to.  Of course, I’d like to see Ancient Egypt and other ancient lands but that would be more of a ‘fly on the wall’ type thing. I wouldn’t want to be suddenly thrust into the time with 21st century clothing (or worse! no clothing) on.

No, my time travel desire is more personal. I would like to travel to 30 September, 1967. I’d like to be a guest at my parent’s wedding and meet my father. One of the most touching scenes in Time Traveler’s Wife was when he met his daughter for the first time, and that was the first bit that I choked up in. Because it was very personal for me and touched on my own desire.  As my father died when I was two years old, I never knew him. It would be great to meet him and it would also be great to meet my mum again.

What about you? What are your favourite time travel movies/stories? And where would you time travel to?

Responses

  1. I would love to go back to my own self in 1987 and whisper a few secrets into my ear. Then I would avoid that really bad hairdo, that stupid boyfriend, and those shoulderpads…. argh!
    Erica Banananaananaa. Knew you’d like it. Though the book is much better.

  2. Hi, Diane. I’m sorry you lost your dad so young. How amazing would it be to see him and your mum get married!

    I adore Back to the Future. Peggy Sue Got Married is one of my other time-travel faves. If I could go back in time, I’d love to hang out in the mid-50s to mid-60s. I think that’s where I belong fashion-wise. anyway! It’d be fun to journey into medieval times, but just for a holiday, because I’m way too reliant on airconditioning. Such a sap.

  3. I had trouble reading the book initially. I put it down and then picked it up again 5 years later! This time it took me a couple of months to get through it – not because it was terrible but because I only had little pockets of time to read at one time – and I really enjoyed the unique perspective on time traveling, especially the bit on cause and effect. I haven’t seen the movie but anything with Eric Bana is good in my book!

  4. its great, hope you dont mind i shared this url in my blog.

  5. i guess i should look for blogs more often, the information you gave me here just “fixed me up” with everything i was looking for. THANK YOU!

  6. Great! loved it.. LIKE :>

  7. added to my fav’ articles.. keep ’em coming.


Leave a Reply

Categories

