Posted by: Kiki | December 9, 2009

What’s so great about 2009?

Last year hasn’t been my best one. My publishing line folded, I had some life-altering health issues, and some family changes.

But life is not about how many times you fall. it’s about how many times you get back up. As long as it’s one more time, you’re fine.

We tend to focus on the bad things and gloss over the good ones, because in hindsight, the happy days are so much smaller, and they never gleam as brightly in the retelling. But there are always great things in any given year, whether you thought the year was good, bad, or simply insignificant.

That unexpected day of sunshine that got you out and about. That smile from a friend when you were feeling low. The cat in someone’s yard that watched as you walked by. Ice cream. That one good book that really took you away from everything. They’re all there, and we should cherish them.

So for me the best thing about 2009? The fact that it was there. Every single day of it.

Responses

  1. Too right Kiki- I remember the day I found out the meaning of life (for me ) and it wasn’t even 42. It was just “to live it.” In whatever way shape and form it unfolds- every year is different.Even in your own “Annus horribilus” it’s the small happinesses like ice cream, a patch of sun, the smell of fresh basil, or the sea that weave it all together and remind us what is always possible.
    All the best for 2010 everybody.

  2. Unfortunetly is wasn’t for me, but I have learned a few things along the way this year.
    thanks for your post. lovely

  3. Amen! It’s all about cycles. Your 2009 was my 2008. And what a heck of a year… health issues, job loss, scared out of my wits. Then it all fell into place, I wrote two books, and the rest is history. I hope that your 2010 is much better.

    – Julie


Leave a Reply

Categories

