Posted by: Ellie Royce | January 5, 2010

Onward and Upward!

Happy New Year everybody! New year, new challenges, new goals. Well, the same goals really or a continuation if you will- but new ways to approach them. For myself, it’s all about getting the balance right. Work, family, writing, health, relaxation, a constant swirling vortex of life requiring my attention. The exciting news for me this year is that I have finally caught up with the rest of the technological world and aquired a new laptop (the joy of this keyboard has to be experienced to be believed….) and discovered speech recognition software. I’ve never been one to dictate my work, my modus has always been a silent outpouring via keyboard. HOWEVER….as I am currently time poor, it will be a major benefit if I can use the dictate function to at least get a draft done more quickly. So far all signs are good.Apart from the fact that I feel as though I’ve strayed into the pages of a Robert Heinlen novel!

I’m also thrilled that this, one of my new years resos has come to pass so soon. Maybe that means that my others will also manifest as promised to myself? (Although the one about a movie option may be aiming a little high- but hey….why not shoot for the moon?)

Health, happiness and fulfilling challenges to you all in 2010.

Responses

  1. Happy 2010, Ellie! I hear you on being time poor. Do I really have to give up a few hours sleep each day in order to get things done?

    Cool stuff about the new laptop. I’m looking forward to hearing all about the fabulous new stories you’ll create with it.

    I’ve dabbled in speech recognition when coming back from injury. It’s amazing how well it works, isn’t it?


Leave a Reply

Categories

