Posted by: Diane Curran | January 17, 2010

Invasion of the Tourists

I live in Paradise.  But other people want to visit Paradise and in summer, it is the Invasion of the Tourists.

Now mostly, tourists are nice, relaxed, on holidays, ready to enjoy themselves…and I try to let my tourist-inflicted irritations stay minor.

So what if there’s no bread (or fresh vegetables) at the supermarket when I finally get out of the day job? (because I’m NOT on holiday) – I’ll make do with something else.

So what if the teenage girls are wandering around the shops in their bikinis and sandals, making me feel (dare I say) fat?  I wouldn’t have done that at their age.

So what if you can’t get into a movie session because they’ve been booked out hours before?  I’ll wait until the tourists go home, then I can enjoy the films in a half-filled cinema rather than one with every seat filled.

So what if there are interstate drivers driving 10kms below every speed limit because they’re enjoying the scenery?  I’ll use my telekinetic powers to get them to pull over the road.”You really want to stop and look at this village. You will pull over.”

So what if you can barely move in the Plaza because tourists are loading up at the January sales or just taking advantage of the air-conditioning?  I’ll avoid going there at lunch-time when I have limited time.

Tourists are good for our economy.  So I have to grin and bear it. And welcome them to town.  But I will be very relieved when the school holidays finish and our roads and shops return to some degree of normality.

Responses

  1. Oh I so know what you mean Diane! Sawtell is OVERRUN from dawn till dusk (and probably way later than that if I was ever up late enough to see them.) And not only have they taken over- two of the set the flipping headland on fire yesterday! I mean,WHAT THE ???? Where do they get off?

  2. Ellie, if you’re in Sawtell, we should meet! I work in Coffs though I live out of town.

  3. Sounds like a plan! I’m always at work myself (except weekends of course!) but we can meet halfway in Coffs-that would be great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

