Posted by: Natalie Hatch | January 19, 2010

Book Review: When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead

The wonderful girls over at Text Publishing sent me an early copy of this book a few weeks back. I devoured it with delight. The storyline was fast paced, intriguing and kept you guessing. Several times I had to back up and look for clues/hints. Rebecca is a clever, clever writer.

I am happy to say that as of this morning Rebecca Stead’s “When You Reach Me” won the Caldecott Medal.

The story centers around Miranda. She comes home one day and finds a letter that somehow has come from the future. But how could that be?

Here’s the blurb from the publisher:

Four mysterious letters change Miranda’s world forever.By sixth grade, Miranda and her best friend, Sal, know how to navigate their New York City neighborhood. They know where it’s safe to go, like the local grocery store, and they know whom to avoid, like the crazy guy on the corner.

But things start to unravel. Sal gets punched by a new kid for what seems like no reason, and he shuts Miranda out of his life. The apartment key that Miranda’s mom keeps hidden for emergencies is stolen. And then Miranda finds a mysterious note scrawled on a tiny slip of paper:

I am coming to save your friend’s life, and my own.

I must ask two favors. First, you must write me a letter.

The notes keep coming, and Miranda slowly realizes that whoever is leaving them knows all about her, including things that have not even happened yet. Each message brings her closer to believing that only she can prevent a tragic death. Until the final note makes her think she’s too late.

Oh now see I can’t tell you more than that without giving away a few key points that will unravel the mystery. I must say at the end of the book I was like “ohhh that’s what that meant, nice, very clever, very clever”.

Rebecca’s book has been receiving phenomenal reviews around the traps, and I must add my own. LOVED IT. It’s a must read book.

Text Publishing has it available on the 1st Feb, 2010 at all good book stores around the country.

Leave a Reply

Categories

