Posted by: Diane Curran | January 24, 2010

Tweets of my death have been greatly exaggerated

You know, I love Twitter. But sometimes I just stare at it and think WTF? It seems that all it takes is one feral little moron to type “RIP insert famous actor’s name here” and suddenly it is retweeted and discussed with more “WTF? No ‘insert famous actor’s name here’ can’t be dead.”  “Tell me it’s a hoax.”  Suddenly “RIP Insert actor Name” is a Trending Topic. Everyone’s clicking on it and adding to the fire. And the whole Twitter community is in mourning for an actor who is alive and well, and unaware that he’s passed over.

If you google his name followed by ‘dead’, you will find out that this guy seems to have more lives than a cat. He’s died more times than any other famous icon…in car crashes, by overdoses…you name it, he’s done it.

And these idiots on Twitter are confirming the actor’s death by linking to a CNN article from 2004.  **headdesk** And it’s not even on a CCN official site. It’s on an angelfire site. C’mon people, grow a brain!

I think it was Mark Twain who said “Rumours of my death have been greatly exaggerated.”

I guess when people are tweeting that you’re dead, that’s when you know that you’ve really made it.

I remember when Princess Diana died. I was typing up a script for a friend and the breaking news came across the radio. I listened to the radio and watched the television for the rest of the day in disbelief.  Michael Hutchence was another shock to the system though can’t remember where I was when I heard the news.  Then I was at work when I heard the news about Steve Irwin and Heath Ledger, which reverberated very quickly around my workplace.

If  someone really famous has died, the news of their death is not just going to be on Twitter. It will be on the television, on the radio, everywhere. So never believe a Twitter obituary until it’s been confirmed by a ‘news’ organisation. Yes, sometimes Twitter might break the news, but remember – any idiot with a keyboard can Tweet.

Responses

  1. I’m not dead either.

  2. Glad to hear it, Nat.


Leave a Reply

Categories

