Posted by: Ellie Royce | February 10, 2010

Norway, Sweden, you rock!!!!

 HOW EXCITED AM I? REALLY, REALLY EXCITED!!!!!!!!!

Over a year ago I was informed that my first in the Letterbook Series “Amy’s Secret” had

sold to Norway and Sweden. Foreign rights! OOh, exciting. Then, of course, as is the way with all publishing………..nothing. Waiting. Nothing… waiting. But… as you can see… at last..

HERE THEY ARE!!!! In Norwegian (does Amy Translate as “Susan”? Don’t know why they changed her name?) and Swedish!!!!(She’s still Amy in Sweden, obviously.) Do I seem incoherent with thrillednessness? because I am. My first books published in a language I CAN”T UNDERSTAND!!!!!!!

(Thank goodness for Google translator and let me tell you- the translation is totally hilarious.)

HUZZAH! Off to open champagne! (Yeah, I know, I know, any excuse but… whoopee!)

Responses

  1. Yay! Congrats Ellie, so what does it say on googles translator? Come on and share.

  2. Hahaha you know what I can’t even say precisely but it was like reading what Japanese persons might say if they didn’t know english- you know, the grammar all mixed up like “you know if I secret say you will be me keeping not” and so forth. And I’m still a little baffled by “Susan”- don’t they like the name Amy in Norway?
    But- I am thrilled to my marrow bones.

  3. Oh man. I’m Swedish, and I’m glad they didn’t change the name here! They do that sometimes, though there is no reason to do so, for example it took me until I was a teenager and then some to figure out why everyone abroad called Kitty Drew NANCY Drew. Yes, her name is Kitty here. No idea why.

    In the Harry Potter books they translate some of the last names into hilarity. Needless to say, it’s a long time since I stopped reading translated works… Most still read them, but I just can’t stomach it.

    But congrats anyway! That is very exciting, even if they changed the names!

  4. Thanks so much Kaia!You’ve inspired me with your Kitty Drew story for today’s blog-what’s in a name?
    I’m not upset about the name change really, just intrigued. What was the reason for Susan? Why not something else? Hmmmmm! I’m just so excited to think that there are my books floating around over in Europe- whatever they are called!


Leave a Reply

Categories

