Posted by: Natalie Hatch | May 10, 2010

The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker

While this book is not labeled YA  I think it sits wonderfully in the genre. A gothic romance with enough depth of character to keep you wanting more. I picked it up because of the cover. Isn’t it lovely?

I like the fact that there’s no windswept girl’s face on the cover, it’s a dark, Victorian evening. I cracked open the book not knowing what to face and couldn’t put it down (and with twin toddlers that’s a big call in my house).

Percy (Persephone) Parker is an albino girl brought up in a convent and now facing life in a Quaker school in London. She’s adept at languages but hates maths (I think she’s my hero right there! LOL).  Percy has a mysterious past, no one knows who her father was, her mother died in childbirth and Percy has been stuck in a convent all her life.

She thinks her white skin and hair are deformities and hates being looked at. That is until she meets her maths professor, Alexi Rychman. He’s hiding mysteries of his own that if revealed could jeopardise not only her life, but her immortal soul.

I can’t tell you any more than that. I soo want to. I really, really liked this book. It’s got all the elements I like, romance that’s not to overt, a struggling heroine, and a reluctant hero. Do yourself a favour and read this book. Leanna Renee Hieber is a gifted writer, and the second book has just been released in the states.

Responses

  1. I’d pick it up because of that gorgeous cover too, Nat! Sounds like it’s a great read to boot.


Leave a Reply

Categories

