Posted by: Natalie Hatch | May 24, 2010

Loneliness or Emptiness?

Yesterday I was chatting to a few girls and one asked the question why girls keep going back to guys who treat them badly. Is it the girls fault that they do this? Is it the guys fault because he never fixes up his problems. As we talked about it the idea came out that perhaps there’s something missing from the girls life that she’s trying to fill with the wrong things.

My question was why does she feel she needs to go back to him time and again when all he does is treat her wrong? Why does she allow herself to be treated that way? What’s missing in her life that she can’t see how wonderful she is and deserves better?

We spoke about that for a while. It reminded me of so many Young Adult novels that have been based around those questions. Why do girls let others treat them badly? Why don’t they stand up and achieve their potential?

One book I read over the past week is still haunting me. Elizabeth Scott’s “Living Dead Girl”. It’s not for the faint hearted, and tackles a really horrible situation of a girl being kidnapped and then assaulted for years on end, not knowing where to go for help.

Here’s the blurb:

Once upon a time, I was a little girl who disappeared.Once upon a time, my name was not Alice.

Once upon a time, I didn’t know how lucky I was.

When Alice was ten, Ray took her away from her family, her friends — her life. She learned to give up all power, to endure all pain. She waited for the nightmare to be over.

Now Alice is fifteen and Ray still has her, but he speaks more and more of her death. He does not know it is what she longs for. She does not know he has something more terrifying than death in mind for her.

This is Alice’s story. It is one you have never heard, and one you will never, ever forget.

I can tell you now that it is one book I didn’t want to keep reading but I was sucked into Alice’s world and I had to, I had to find out what was going to happen to her, how she could survive that nightmare of a lifestyle.

Confronting story, very well told.

Leave a Reply

Categories

