Posted by: Natalie Hatch | May 31, 2010

Young Adult Steampunk

I must confess to being besotted by the two Parasol Protectorate books written so far by Miss Carriger. Soulless started with a great scene involving high tea, trifles and vampires being hit across the noses with a parasol.  The book was a light hearted romp through alternative Victorian England with dirigibles and werewolves. Her follow up book Changeless was great, although I really, really, really need to read the next book Blameless but it’s not published yet. Darn. The books aren’t categorised YA but they’re worth the read anyway.

Richard Harland’s book “WorldShaker” thrusts the reader into a class battle on a moving traction engine city. Very similar to Phillip Reeve’s “Mortal Engines” series. I enjoyed both authors takes on cities that move about the globe in order to survive.

Kenneth Oppel’s “Skyborn” series is another great YA Steampunk read. If I was just starting out trying to get my teeth into steampunk this is the series I’d go with.

So why am I having a look at steampunk today? Well because Cassie Clare (she of the Mortal Instruments saga) has a new book coming out soon. “Clockwork Angel“…I cannot wait to get my hands on this book. Cassandra does such a great job at sucking the reader into a whirlwind of action/romance/paranormal experiences, and I have high hopes that Clockwork Angel lives up to the tale.   You can read an exerpt here: Clockwork Angel.

Leave a Reply

Categories

