Posted by: Natalie Hatch | June 10, 2010

The Doldrums

I’ve hit the doldrums, the wind of motivation has died out and I’m floundering around in my little dinghy trying to find out where I need to go with writing etc. Has anyone come to this point in their writing life?

What drives you to write? What is it about Young Adult novels that you like so much that you’d like to write your own? I’ve been trying to find out what it is for myself. I think the opportunity to write without limits, Young Adult novels can be on any subject. Teens have an amazing ability to open their minds to new ideas and I love that about the genre.

I came across a great talk by Tony Robbins given back in 2006 on what motivates us to do what we do. What is it that pushes you to be who you are?

Responses

  1. Sorry to hear you’re in the doldrums, Nat. I’m very familiar with this state! Sometimes a visit to a bookstore is enough to get me inspired again – even if I don’t buy anything. Other times you’ve just got to ride it out and not put too much pressure on yourself to produce.


Leave a Reply

Categories

