Posted by: Natalie Hatch | June 14, 2010

Latest Reads

I finally received the second book in Richard Newsome’s great MG trilogy and loved it. Richard won the inaugural Text Publishing competition, his book “The Billionaire’s Curse” was published last year. I know why it won, it’s freaking awesome, you seriously can’t put it down. The Emerald Casket is just as good and has the hero and his friends traveling to India.  The one bad thing about the book is the fact I have to wait for the next one. Richard knows how to throw his characters into dangerous situations and not use an act of God to get them out, he relies on the characters own ingenuity to figure out how to save themselves. And I like the fact that the girls are just as good as the boys in the story. It’s aimed at middle grade but as an adult I really did enjoy the story.

The Darkly Luminous Fight for Persephone Parker by Leanna Renee Heiber started out with great intentions, I had really enjoyed the first book – The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Percy Parker.   Unfortunately for me after 110 pages I stopped reading. I just couldn’t get through the lovey-dovey language Leanna used. It seemed every second dialogue sentence was saturated and it detracted from the story itself. I know people about to get married or newly married tend to be quite vocal in their affection, but for the danger element of the story it didn’t help. I haven’t finished it, I don’t know if I will. Perhaps in a few weeks I can come back to the story without the sarcasm, but for now it’s in the unfinished/never finish pile which is a shame because the first book was great.

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner by Stephenie Meyer was a bit disappointing for me. I managed to snaffle a copy and sat down hoping that the book/characters would bring out Stephenies best writing. While it did answer some questions, and showed a greater depth of perception in Ms Meyers work, it left me kind of flat. I know I’m going to be railed on by Twihards, but honestly it was so-so. I’d read it, but not rave about it (sorry Di, have to give it a low attention rating).

In contrast I finally finished Band of Brothers by Stephen Ambrose. It’s  the book the miniseries was based upon. I was moved by the men’s words as they described their lives during World War 2. It’s not a light read, in fact it’s taken me a couple of weeks to get through (I could only read a chapter at a time because of the issues that it covers). I recommend it and not just for research purposes. I picked it up for research into a story I’m plotting out and then was sucked into the mens struggle to survive against such overwhelming odds. The camaraderie and the integrity of Major Richard Winters makes for a worthwhile read.


Leave a Reply

Categories

