Posted by: Natalie Hatch | August 18, 2010

Keeper Shelf

We all have dozens if not hundreds of books we’ve read and liked, but how many of those books would we place on our Keeper Shelf? This is the figurative shelf somewhere in our room that holds the books too precious to give away or share with others.

I have many books I’ve shared with others, but there are few that I would insist never leave my presence. Top of my list is the Discworld series by Terry Pratchett. I’m sorry, but these are mine, I would love for others to read them, but these hardback books stay on that shelf for me to read over and over and over again. I would encourage others to go read them, but I can’t let these ones out of my sight.

Next in line is this book:  Accidental Demon Slayer by Angie Fox. The reason it’s a keeper is because it’s signed by Angie. It’s not YA, but it’s good for a laugh (oh and I did lend it out but now it stays on the shelf for whenever I need a good gut laugh read).

As for YA books, I guess Graceling by Kirstin Cashore would be top of the list to never go out of my sight. Why do I like this book so much? The pacing is terrific, Kirstin draws you in with the story and you end up wishing the entire time that Po would just grab Katsa and kiss the girl already!

Next is our own Steph Bowe’s book “Girl Saves Boy”. I read it this week and I must tell you that Steph made me cry and cry. Darn you woman! My teens read it first so I had no say in that, but then the younger one told me I “have to read this with tissues handy”… intriguing? Yeah, sitting in the post-op ward waiting for my little 3yr old  to wake up and I needed tissues, big time, I think the nurses thought I was a stressed out mother.  I will be reviewing this book next week, and I promise I won’t include spoilers other than to say have tissues handy when you read the book.

What’s on your Keeper Shelf?

Responses

  1. Great blog post Kiki.
    My keepers are: The Princess Bride, without a doubt and the Anne of Green Gables books. Plus Vernon God Little (but not DBC Pierre’s 2nd book which made me feel sick). Cindy Pon’s Silver Phoenix. The Hunger Games books (hanging out for book 3) and anything past, present and future by Anna Campbell, Kate Noble and Christine Wells.

  2. *facepalm* I mean Natalie! (I followed Kiki’s link here, so I had her name on my brain).

  3. thanks Ebony. I had Anna’s books on my bookshelf and then my teen got hold of them and read them. Um, probably not the best thing to read as an impressionable teen.

  4. Oh gosh, I have a problem. When I love a book I want to shove it in somebody’s- *Anybody’s* face and say “Read this!” So, sometimes I have to pick up a copy at the used book store so I have an extra on hand.

    Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere, and Anansi Boys. Douglas Adams’ Dirk Gently books.
    Alice in Wonderland, Lewis Carrol
    The Rose and The Beast, Francesca Lia Block

  5. thanks Amanda, I have no problem sharing books, but there are some that I don’t want to lend out for fear of never getting my copy back. I’ll rave about the books til the cows come home, but I’ve had books disappear forever after I’ve shared them with others. Perhaps finding an extra copy would be a good idea.

  6. Natalie, I am the reason you are afraid to lend books. Well, not me specifically, but people like me. I’m a book hog. I tend not to return books and videos. I warn my friends that they’ll have to come to my house and take them from my shelf. Funny thing is, the same people keep lending me stuff anyway. Strange…


Leave a Reply

Categories

