Posted by: Natalie Hatch | August 29, 2010

Girl Saves Boy by Steph Bowe

First let’s read the blurb: 

The first time we met, Jewel Valentine saved my life.

Isn’t it enough having your very own terminal disease, without your mother dying? Or your father dating your Art teacher?

No wonder Sacha Thomas ends up in the lake that Saturday evening…

But the real question is: how does he end up in love with Jewel Valentine?

With the help of quirky teenage prodigies Little Al and True Grisham, Sacha and Jewel have a crazy adventure, with a little lobster emancipation along the way.

But Sacha’s running out of time, and Jewel has secrets of her own.

Girl Saves Boy is a hugely talented debut novel, funny and sad, silly and wise. It’s a story of life, death, love… and garden gnomes.

Okay, so Steph’s gone and made me cry, and I can’t tell you why I cried so much in this book. I know she’s probably at home going “cut it out Nat, get a grip” but I went into this book with my teen telling me I’d need a box of tissues coz I’m such a sentimental thing and she was right.

Now the book doesn’t try to make you blubber, in fact Steph’s trying to share the story of a girl who finds love in the oddest of places and a boy who tries to give up on himself but instead finds a joy he didn’t think existed for him. (Hope that’s not too spoilerish)

I think that teen writers can get to the heart of the matter in a way that many adults can’t, and Steph’s proven this to be true. Her writing draws you in and wraps you up in Sacha and Jewels world. You step into their story and are taken for an emotional ride. It’s sweet and sad, with a touch of sarcasm and teenage angst thrown in for good measure. I loved this book, it’s on the Keeper Shelf.

Good on you Steph, can’t wait to read the next one. Girl Saves Boy is released in September 2010 from Text Publishing.

Responses

  1. I want to read this book so badly. I cannot even contain myself anymore.

  2. It’s a great read and comes out Wednesday!

  3. Im reading it right now gals…fabulous so far! x Aimee


Leave a Reply

Categories

