Posted by: Natalie Hatch | October 11, 2010

Fallen Angels – YA’s New Bad Boys?

I’ve had the pleasure of reading a few books recently which feature fallen angels, those sweet innocent little lambs that have lost their wings and don’t know where to find them. I guess this is a trend in YA at the moment. Some of the books I’ve read really did the idea justice, while others were, well, instead of eagles plummeting to earth from lofty heights they were sparrows falling out of a tree. Nice stories, don’t get me wrong, not bad reads at all. I guess there are some stories that are great and others that personally I put down and walk away from. And I’m not going to name the ones I’ve put down. I’ll just share a list of Fallen Angel reads and you can go through them for yourself and decide.

The Fallen series – including Fallen and Torment by Lauren Kate

Kate’s covers are to die for. So dark and mysterious, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on these. 17 yr old Lucinda falls in love with Daniel a guy at her new school, but there’s a catch (isn’t there always) something is keeping them apart, a force of evil that wants to make Lucinda their own. Daniel is a fallen angel, and has spent lifetimes trying to keep her safe.  Lucinda must learn to trust Daniel even though he keeps things hidden from her out of a misplaced sense of honour.

Halo by Alexandra Adornetto

Three angels are sent to earth to protect a little town against the gathering forces of darkness. But their mission is jeopardized by the youngest angel who against Heavens law falls in love.  What’s not to like? This is the first in a series by Alexandra.

Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Nora’s not part of the social scene as such at her high school, but when she’s thrown together with the school badboy, Patch, for an assignment she learns that there’s more to him than meets the eye.

The Mortal Instruments series by Cassie Clare

Oh can I rave about this series? Can I? Can I?  Cassie has amazing skills at sharing a story in a way that keeps you riveted to the pages. She’s incorporated angels/vampires/weres/demons into one great tale. Her latest book Clockwork Angel uses these elements and mixes them with steampunk (oh joy of joys). Loved it, could rave about it forever.

The Fallen by Thomas E. Sniegoski

I haven’t read this one yet, still trying to find it, but… Aaron can see things, winged things, portents of a dark destruction coming to earth. What’s his role in it? Why can only he see these things? Is he going mad or is there another side to him that he’s yet to discover? hmm, I want to read this. TBR pile for sure. Oh and it’s the first in a series, will let you know when I read it.

Responses

  1. So these are the new vampires? It will be interesting to see what happens!

  2. […] genre, because there is just SO MUCH out there. And then I wandered over to one of my subscriptions here and find that Fallen Angels are the next big […]

  3. Andrew there’s been a few books written about fallen angels in the past couple of years, but these were the ones that I’d been made aware of/read in the past couple of months. It reminded me of the fallen angel movies that are around City of Angels, Constantine, Legion, Gabriel… they’ve fallen so far, so hard.


Leave a Reply

Categories

