Posted by: stephbowe | October 15, 2010

Interview with Lara Morgan

I know, I’ve been away from We Love YA too long! But I’m back now! And today I’ve got, for your reading pleasure, an interview with Lara Morgan, author of The Rosie Black Chronicles. Genesis has just been released, and this is part of the blog tour! Yay! Fabulousness!

Here’s a bit about the Rosie Black Chronicles: Genesis:

Five hundred years into the future, the world is a different place. The Melt has sunk most of the coastal cities and Newperth is divided into the haves, the “Centrals”; the have-nots, the “Bankers”; and the fringe dwellers, the “Ferals”.

Rosie Black is a Banker. When Rosie finds an unusual box, she has no idea of the grave consequences of her discovery. A mysterious organisation wants it – and will kill to get it.

Forced to rely on two strangers, Rosie is on the run. But who can she trust? Pip, the too attractive Feral, or the secretive man he calls boss?

From Earth to Mars, Rosie must learn the secrets of the box – before it’s too late.

Woo! It’s still in my to-read pile (damn schoolwork always getting in the way!), but I am so looking forward to reading Genesis. Here’s an interview with Lara Morgan, and be sure to check out http://www.rosieblack.com.au/

Steph: Can you tell me about the process of writing your novel? Inspirations, etc.
Lara: Oddly for me, the world of Rosie Black came before the actual plot and even the character. Usually characters come first then the story and world suggests itself from there, but this time it all started with me being worried about climate change. It’s a subject that’s interested me for years and I had been worrying and wondering what our planet was going to be like in one hundred, even five hundred, years if we didn’t as a whole pull together and do something. This led to me wanting to write about it. I started coming up with ideas for what I thought might happen and how the Earth and our society might change. Once I’d gone along on that path I realised I’d begun creating a world that was a lot like one in a short story I’d written ages ago that had a character in it called Essie Black. I’d loved that character, though the story hasn’t been published, and then I was just sort of visited one day by the notion that Essie had a niece called Rosie and it was her story I should be telling. Rosie was quite adamant about that, but I find my characters generally do that – they arrive and insist on being written about.

Steph: Why do you write?
Lara: That’s is a really hard question to answer as half the time I’m not really sure because the actual writing, in itself, is such blood drawing, frustrating, teeth grinding hard work, that I wonder if maybe I just like banging my head on the desk. I think part of it is that I find I can express myself much more clearly with the written word than in speech. Another facet is that I’m not the kind of person who likes to dominate conversations but I have lots of opinions and writing is a way of being heard above the din of everyone else. It’s also a way of trying to make sense of people and how they work, how the world works. There’s a quote by David Malouf which has always struck a chord with me, which explains things well; “…most people seem after a certain time to decide they know how it all works. Writers are people who, really till the end of their days, never know how it works. Everything is a puzzle to them.” I think that’s what I’m trying to do, make sense of the puzzle.

Steph: What’s your favourite part of being an author?

Lara: Can I have more than one? It’s working on my own in pyjamas if I want to, the moment when I feel like I might have written something that gets somewhere close to the heart of what I’m trying to express, meeting other authors and being able to call reading lots of other people’s books research.

Steph: What books do you love most?

Lara: I love a book that can make me cry. At heart I’m a terrible sentimentalist and I love heart rending tragedy. I recently read The Knife of Never Letting Go, by Patrick Ness and was so upset I had to put it down half way through for about a week before I could go on, but I just loved that it could touch me so deeply. Of course the problem with that is I can’t ever re-read that book because it’s too traumatic, but I still love it. I also love those tales that stay with you for a long time afterward, The Road by Cormac Macarthy is a good example of that. Oh and I also love a good adventure/ romance and the classics if I’m in the mood. Really the only type of book I don’t read a lot is probably crime fiction…although there was that one writer…

Steph: Imagining you can travel back in time and meet yourself without tearing the fabric of the universe apart, what advice would you give your 16-year-old self about writing and life?

Lara: I might tell myself to start getting serious about writing as a profession earlier. At the risk of sounding old, I was 27 before I consciously decided I wanted to ‘be’ a writer and I’ve sometimes wondered what would have happened if I’d started straight out of uni. But then again, I had some wonderful experiences in my twenties that I may not have had if I’d been dedicated to that inner world that writing demands and I’ve certainly collected plenty of ideas I can use in my work now. As for life, well, we all make mistakes but avoiding them misses the point of learning about this mad world doesn’t it? Although I would be tempted to tell myself not to get that perm in 1988 – tragic mistake, tragic.

Steph: Can you talk a bit about what you’re working on at the moment?

Lara: I’m working on the second book in The Rosie Black Chronicles. It’s called Equinox and all I can say is there will be more danger and adventure for Rosie, more of Pip and also another boy entering the mix and it should be out around this time next year.

Thanks so much, Lara! Check out http://www.rosieblack.com.au/ for more details!

Responses

  1. Thanks Steph and Lara for a fascinating interview.

    I totally agree that one of the fun parts of being a writer is not having to dress up for work:)

    Dee

  2. Thank you Steph and Lara! This is a great discussion to have been able to listen in from the sidelines. I must confess, I surprised myself by how absorbing I found The Rosie Black Chronicles – as I’m generally more of a histotical fiction buff. But Rosie, I loved … and look forward to Equinox. So glad Pip didn’t disappear forever.
    M

  3. Hi you two thanks for your comments . Mabel you’ve been so enthusiastic it’s great thanks alot.


Leave a Reply

Categories

