Posted by: Debbie Kahl | November 14, 2010

The dark side of Meg Cabot – the Mediator series

So I was walking through my local Kmart recently and not surprisingly (for anyone who knows me at all), I was drawn to the book section. Specifically, the dark, Twilight inspired Meg Cabot cover, emblazoned with the titles Love You To The Death and High Spirits. My immediate reaction (I’m sorry to say) was a groan. As a huge fan of Meg Cabot, and a tolerator of the Twilight phenomenon (yes, you can all start yelling at me now over that piece of information), all I could think was ‘Oh no Meg, not you too?’

Upon closer inspection however, as in I actually picked up the book and had a good look at it, I realised the book was not about sparkly, vegetarian vampires but rather about a teenage mediator. As in she deals with ghosts and sends them on their merry way into the afterlife. And, it was released 10 years ago under the pen name of Jenny Carroll, which is obviously why I knew nothing of this series until now. So for the bargain price of $9, I took my two book omnibus home and began to read about the adventures of 16 year old Suze.

Suze, or Susannah Simon, has always been able to see ghosts. It’s a secret she keeps only to herself though; despite her mother’s continual stress about her sneaking out of the house at all hours of the night, her unexplained injuries as part of the tough love approach to ghosts (yes, she actually hits them!) and her insanity at seeing things that aren’t really there. Instead, Suze tends to stay away from old buildings and tries to maintain some normality in her life, which is kind of hard when you’re a 16 year old freak who sees dead people.

That is until her mother remarries and she’s forced to move from New York, to Carmel in California and into an old house – with three new step-brothers to boot – where she has a gorgeous, 150 year old ghost haunting her bedroom. And if that isn’t enough for her to deal with, she’s confronted with the ghost of the most popular girl in school, who died over the summer. The very same one who’s decided she’s not leaving the school and wants to stick around and exact revenge on the living.

Originally released as Shadowland in 2000, this novel is classic Cabot – witty, engaging and great fun. It would be best described as a cross between Ghost Whisperer and Medium, but much more fun because Suze is such a fabulous character. While she’s trying to be 16, which in itself is hell on earth; she’s dealing with a new home, a crush on the ghost in her bedroom, a new stepdad, a dad who’s still haunting her since his untimely death, three new stepbrothers, and trying to make new friends in a new school. All while taking on the ghost of the very cranky, very jealous and very invisible Miss Popular. If you thought bullies were hard to deal with in person, you can only imagine how angry they get when no-one can see them. Oh, and when they feel they’re being replaced because their boyfriend has suddenly become very attracted to the new girl, who’s also ‘stolen’ your locker.

An awesome book for YA readers, specifically those who love urban fantasy, the supernatural and good humour. In fact, I loved it so much that I went back to Kmart and bought the rest of them. Now you have to go and get them for yourself. Happy reading! xx

For more information on Meg Cabot visit her webpage: http://www.megcabot.com/ 

For the Mediator series published by Pan Macmillan, click here: http://www.panmacmillan.com.au/display_title.asp?ISBN=9780330519502&Author=Cabot,%20Meg

P.S. The film rights to this book have been sold and a script is in development, so hopefully we’ll see Suze’s adventures on the big screen soon too! 🙂

Responses

  1. Meg’s a talented girl, she even writes adult fiction as well.
    Good post Deb.

  2. Thanks Nat. I have all the adult ones sittng in my bookcase too. x

  3. I like the new covers. I’ve got the Mediator series in an earlier cover version, and it certainly sets a different tone.
    Suze is one of my fave Meg Cabot heroines, if for no other reason that she punches ghosts. ^_^

    Great post, thanks for the heads-up!

  4. Deb, you have totally sold me on this one. I love a comic angle.

  5. I absolutely love this series, I think Suze is possible my favorite heroine from her books. She’s so kick butt and amazing.

    Great post!

    Alex

  6. These Mediator books were the first I even learned of Meg Cabot. Up til a few weeks ago, I didn’t even know she was the author of The Princess Diaries! I’ve also reviewed her Mediator series all over my own review blog :O)

  7. I love to share knowledge that I’ve accumulated with the year to help enhance group overall performance.

  8. Excellent willing synthetic attention with
    regard to fine detail and may foresee problems before they
    occur.

  9. Heya excellent website! Does running a blog similar to this require a
    great deal of work? I’ve no understanding of coding but I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyways, should you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog owners please share. I know this is off topic nevertheless I simply needed to ask. Kudos!

  10. I am wondering which blogging and site-building platform
    you might be running? I’m new to blogging and have been thinking about using the Ning platform. Do you think this is a good platform to start with? I would be really grateful if I could ask you some questions through e-mail so I can learn a bit more before getting started. When you have some spare time, please make sure to get in touch with me at: aaron-tavares@wildmail.com. Thanks alot 🙂

  11. Good day! I know this is kinda off topic but I was
    wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha tool for my comment form?
    Looks I’m using the same blog engine as yours and I’m having trouble
    finding one? Thanks a lot!

  12. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several e-mails
    with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove my mothers daughter from that service?
    Thanks a lot!

  13. Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.
    Any suggestions?

  14. That is somewhat Offtopic, but i thought you could give me some advice.
    With regards to registering and hosting a domain name,
    I have no idea what I need to do. A. Do I Need To register
    and host at the same place? Or B. Should I register my domain name with one
    company and host it with another? I would want to
    do A, but therein lies my difficulty. I want to register my domain name with NameCheap, since I like
    their prices. Nonetheless, I don’t want to host my site with them. What would be your decision?

  15. I do not know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else experiencing problems with your site. It looks like some of the text in your content are running off the screen. Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them as well? This could be a issue with my web browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Cheers

  16. Hey there! It appears as though we both have a passion for the same thing.
    Your blog, “The dark side of Meg Cabot” and mine are very similar.
    Have you ever thought of writing a guest write-up
    for a similar website? It will unquestionably help gain publicity to your blog (my website
    recieves a lot of visitors). If you happen to be interested, contact me at: melanieburley@yahoo.
    com. Thanks

  17. Howdy! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for
    this website? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  18. Hi there, I am new to blogging and websites
    in general and was wondering how you got the “www” included in your web address name?

    I see your web address, “https://weloveya.wordpress.com/2010/11/14/the-dark-side-of-meg-cabot-the-mediator-series/” has the www and my web address looks like, “http://mydomain.com”.

    Do you know the way I can alter this? I’m using WordPress platform. Thanks a ton

  19. Doh! I was domain checking at namecheap.com and went to type in the domain name: https://weloveya.wordpress.com/2010/11/14/the-dark-side-of-meg-cabot-the-mediator-series/ and guess who already purchased it?

    You did! lmao j/k. I was about to purchase this great domain name but noticed
    it was taken so I decided I’d come check it out. Awesome blog!

  20. Excellent blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?

    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or
    go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely confused .. Any ideas? Kudos!

  21. “The dark side of Meg Cabot – the Mediator series | We love YA” was in fact a terrific post
    and therefore I personally was very satisfied to read the blog post.
    Thank you-Britt


Leave a Reply

Categories

