Posted by: Natalie Hatch | November 26, 2010

A Tiny Bushel of Books

It’s almost Christmas and the book catalogues are being sent out. Can I just explain that some people get excited by swimwear catalogues, others enjoy jewelry catalogues and my kids love the toy sale catalogues, but me? I love book catalogues. They are just amazing, and the smell of newly printed pages gives me a little chill. Next year holds big things in the YA world.

So to get started I need to share this book with you.

Pegasus by Robin McKinley.

Have you read any of Robin’s other books yet? Go and get them, they are great reads, she’s so good at sucking you into her world. I particularly like Sunshine if you want somewhere to start.

Pegasus has the most spiffy cover, who doesn’t want their own flying horse? After seeing Clash of the Titans as a little kid I wanted one, but had my world shattered when my parents informed me that just like unicorns, pegasi do not exist. Damn. Robin however has created a world where the Pegasi not only exist but hold the capabilities to make the world a magical place.

The story centers around Princess Sylvi, she’s fourth in line for the throne, so not really expected to do much except keep the family honour and study. Every member of the royal family are bonded to Pegasi when they turn twelve. This is part of a peace compact from hundreds of years ago, and Sylvi is about to receive her bond mate. Unfortunately for most the humans and Pegasi cannot communicate freely and must use magicians to share information. When Sylvi meets her bondmate, Ebon, for the first time it’s clear that normal rules don’t apply to her. Sylvi and Ebon have to forge a new understanding at the same time as keeping their abilities to communicate secret from the magicians.

This really is a good read. McKinley has done a great job, but it ends abruptly and I have to wait until 2012 for the sequel. ARGH! Not fair Robin.

Fat Vampire by Adam Rex

Okay onto another vampire novel. Oh not another one, you say. Well actually Fat Vampire is along the lines of Flynn Meaney’s “Bloodthirsty”… it’s a guys take on being a vampire when things don’t always go according to plan. Imagine being a teen forever, not a beautiful, shining, gorgeous teen either – No imagine getting stuck being the pudgey, pimply, awkward teen until the end of days. It’s all my nightmares come true. Teenagers shouldn’t have to live like this, and being a 15yr old dork forever just isn’t on the cards. Doug, however, is stuck like this. Forever!

It’s a quirky read, funny in parts, you cringe for Doug in others because you know just what he’s going through. Doug tries desperately to finish himself off in many ways, with the help of his best friend. But what can you do when you’re virtually indestructible?

The Eternal Ones by Kirsten Miller

Adele from Persnickety Snark did a review of this book and I think she sums up my feelings on this one as well. I wanted to like it, I really did.

_______________________________________________________

For other news, there’s been a bit of a kerfuffle over at Jawas Read Too regarding a review Erika wrote about The Marbury Lens by Andrew Smith. Unfortunately commenters have taken offense at her review and then others jumped to her defense and it’s all blown up.

It’s left me wondering about negative reviews and the impact they have on authors/readers. What if I don’t like a book? Am I entitled to say “yeah I didn’t like it”? and not give why? I mean sometimes you can pick up a book and start reading then think ‘nope, that’s not for me’. Do you have to give a reason for your feelings?

I don’t agree with tearing down an author or their book. However, there are books out there that I don’t like. I receive quite a few books from publishers, I know I’m not going to like all of them. I’ve made it a habit not to review in detail those I couldn’t finish. That’s my stance on it. The Jawas share why they don’t like a book, and that’s their choice.

Responses

  1. Natalie, thanks so much for the tip on Robin McKinley’s new book. She’s one of my favey-favorites, and I didn’t know she had something new coming out.

  2. It’s really great Becca, can’t wait for the next book.


Leave a Reply

Categories

