Posted by: Natalie Hatch | March 19, 2011

Winter’s Shadow by MJ Hearle

Louise from Pan MacMillan was kind enough to send me a copy of debut author MJ Hearle’s “Winter’s Shadow”, it arrived yesterday afternoon in the mail. I finished it late last night. Is that all I need to say? Nope there’s a few things I have to rave about. Firstly I like MJ’s take on demon’s and the issue of uncontrolled appetites. I liked the world building, although I would have liked more, but you can only fit so much into four hundred odd pages. Secondly, there were a few places where I kind of got lost because I was concentrating on one element of the story and forgot to let the other subplots in, but the author fixed that up for me with a satisfying ending. Maybe there might be a next book, but you, the reader, is left with a feeling that the story does have an ending. Something I’ve found that’s lacking in a few books I’ve read lately.

Here’s the blurb:

Blake Duchamp…

He’s all that Winter Adams can think of. Ever since their fateful meeting at Pilgrim’s Lament. Ever since he looked at her with those emerald eyes. Ever since he saved her life.

But Blake isn’t all that he seems. There is a strangeness about him, something dark and otherworldly. Something dangerous. In his attic is a secret he would kill to defend, but Winter seems to have a special ability to make him forget his duty. And he is her only protection against the gathering darkness.

The only problem is, to protect Winter, Blake must risk exposing her to an even greater danger. Himself.

It does have a dark take on life, a bit of horror/supernatural to spice up the romance side of things. Blake’s overall storyline could have been explored more, but that’s just a purely personal thing.  I enjoyed the read, needed to get my mind off work etc and MJ provided the perfect story to throw myself into. Winter’s Shadow is released in Australia in June.

 

 

Responses

  1. Car shopping can be very time consuming. There are plenty of cars you can look at, as well as a handful of factors to consider.
    You need to make sure you are aware of what you need to
    make it a better experience. Consider the following helpful
    advice for making things easier on you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

