Posted by: Debbie Kahl | April 3, 2011

Prom and Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single girl of high standing at Longbourn Academy must be in want of a prom date.

Can I just start with one, glaringly obvious message? I LOVE this book!

As a huge fan of Jane Austen, and the original Pride and Prejudice – so much so that I once ran around the streets of Bath immersing myself in everything Jane Austen and I never, ever run for anything – I couldn’t help but be drawn to this book. Elizabeth Eulberg has done a brilliant job of transplanting the original characters and dropping them into modern day Connecticut boarding schools, appropriately named Longbourn Academy and Pemberley School.

There, scholarship student Lizzie Bennett struggles to establish herself as a valid member of an elitist community amidst persistent snobbery and bullying by Caroline Bingley and Cat De Bourgh. Lizzie’s rich best friend and roommate Jane, herself having dramas with her younger sister Lydia’s embarrassing behaviour at Longbourn, is in love with Charles Bingley and eagerly awaits his return to Pemberley after studying in London for a semester.

Upon Charles’ return, Lizzie is introduced to Charles’ best friend Will Darcy, and is less than impressed. Will is all that Lizzie hates; wealthy, snobby and pretentious, and they clash frequently. So why does she find herself so drawn to him?

Prom and Prejudice definitely reproduces the themes of class and love that made the original story such an enduring classic. Lizzie and Darcy are two of literature’s most beloved characters and Eulberg has recreated them so beautifully for the YA audience. I can only hope that whilst this book is wonderful in its own right, it opens up the world of Austen for a new generation of readers.

If you’re a fan of romance, YA and/or Jane Austen, go and hunt this book down now!

You can find more information on Elizabeth Eulberg at: http://www.elizabetheulberg.com/

Responses

  1. Oh I’m a bit the opposite, I became annoyed at it after a while. I know it was supposed to be a rehashing of Pride and Prejudiced, but I’ve read so many lately. I prefer Elizabeth’s other book “Lonely Hearts Club”.

  2. […] https://weloveya.wordpress.com/2011/04/03/prom-and-prejudice-by-elizabeth-eulberg/ […]

  3. Really Nat? I just love the storyline, so perhaps I’m a bit biased. Anything to do with Pride and Prejudice and I’m happy. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

